Chance

The students in Five White are learning about ‘chance’ in Mathematics. Chance can be defined as the likelihood or probability that a particular outcome will occur.

Probability can be recorded on a scale of 0 to 1. Click here, then click on ‘c’, then ‘chance’ to see the scale.

The scale includes the following.

Impossible – There is no chance. It will not happen. E.g. It is impossible for pigs to fly.

Unlikely – It will probably not happen. There is a small chance it will happen. E.g Five White are unlikely to skip their Friday spelling test.

Even Chance – There is an equal chance. Each event is equally likely to happen. E.g When a coin is tossed, there is an even chance that it will land heads up.

Likely – It will probably happen. There is a small chance it won’t happen. E.g. You will likely go to school on Monday.

Certain – It will definitely happen. E.g. The sun will rise in  the morning.

Leave a comment with more examples of events that are impossible, unlikely, likely, certain and that have an even chance of occurring. 

Chance Jar

Imagine that you are reaching into the jar above. Leave a comment with a sentence using a chance term about the probability of picking out a counter.

For example:

  • I am likely to pick out a …..
  • I am unlikely to pick out a … 
  • It is impossible to pick out a … 
  • I have an even chance of picking out a …
  • It is certain that I will  pick out a …

Sign into Studyladder for activities related to chance. Click here and here for games related to chance. Leave a comment about what you thought about the game(s).

31 Comments

Filed under Mathematics

31 responses to “Chance

  1. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I have learnt lots of in chance so far and these are the answers for the questions:
    I am likely to pick out the green and blue counter out
    I am unlikely to pick out the yellow counter out
    It is impossible to pick out a pink counter out
    It is a even chance of picking out the green and blue counter out
    It is certain to pick out a purple counter out

    thanks for reading,
    Josephine

    • Hi Josephine,

      Good try! Try writing the sentences again about the probability of what you are likely to pick out and what you are certain to pick out.

      Your teacher,
      Miss Azzopardi

      • Simone

        Dear miss Azzopardi,
        I have learnt a lot of chance and these are my answers.
        It is possible to get a purple counter
        It is impossible to get a yellow counter
        It is unlikely to get a blue counter
        It is unlikely to get a green counter

        Your student,
        Simone

  2. Dear 5W & Miss Azopardi,

    I feel like i havn’t been on this blog for ages!!! I miss it. Miss Azzopardi and 5W have taught me a lot about chance thats why I’m going to try to write good sentences:
    I am likely to pick a purple counter.
    I am unlikely to pick a yellow counter.
    It is impossible to pick out a black counter.
    It is a even chance of picking a green and blue counter.
    It is certain that I will pick a counter.
    How did i go? I was a bit stuck on the last one but a least I know that I tried my best!!

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

  3. Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    I am going to try again because the last time i tried it, it wasn’t really perfect. I done the last one wrong so I’m going to try the last one again. So tell me how you think:

    I am likely to pick a purple counter.
    I am unlikely to pick a yellow counter.
    It is impossible to pick out a black counter.
    It is a even chance of picking a green and blue counter.
    It is certain that I will pick up a black counter.

    How do you think of it?

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

    • Dear Andrea,

      You last sentence was not incorrect, I just wanted you to try to be more specific. It isn’t certain that you will pick out a black counter as there are no black counters. Would you like to try again?

      Your teacher,
      Miss Azzopardi

  4. Dear Five White & Miss Azzopardi

    I am likely to pick out a purple counter.
    I am unlikely to pick out a yellow counter.
    It is impossible to pick out a black counter.
    It is an even chance to picking out a blue counter.
    It is certain that I will pick out a purple counter.

    Kind regards,
    James

    • Dear James,

      You did all of them correct accept the last 2. You need to fix the 4th one you didn’t contuniue it. What else is the blue equal chance too? Is it really certain to pick a purple counter because their is coulours it is still possible to pick ther colours. It took me a longggg time to do the last one it is tricky. Take ideas form the other comments it might help yu a bit.

      Sincerely,
      Andrea

  5. Dear 5W & Miss Azzoaprdi,

    This is my third attempt to making it perfect. I got the last one wrong again it is pretty hard if you think about it, but, I’m not going to give up! I’m going to try my best!! Here it is:

    I am likely to pick a purple counter.
    I am unlikely to pick a yellow counter.
    It is impossible to pick out a black counter.
    It is a even chance of picking a green and blue counter.
    It is certain that I am going to pick either a blue, green, yellow and purple.

    How is it this time? I feel like it is a bit better 🙂

    SIncerely,
    Andrea

    • Natalie

      Dear Andrea,
      Guess what? You got all of them right!!!! Well done!! Have you tried the other activities?

      Kind regards,
      Natalie

      • Dear Natalie,

        FInally I got them all right! The last one was very very tricky!!!! I havn’t tried the other activities but I will now.

        SIncerely,
        Andrea

    • josephine

      Dear Andrea,

      Don’t worry about thinking that you will get it wrong because you got all of them right!!

      Bye,
      Josephine

  6. Natalie

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    These are the answers to the chance questions:
    I am likely to pick out a purple counter.
    I am unlikely to pick out a yellow counter.
    It is impossible to pick out a multi-coloured counter.
    I have an even chance of picking out a green or blue counter.
    It is certain that I will pick out a blue, purple, green or yellow counter.
    I also went on study ladder to play some chance games. I enjoyed all the games that I played and it definitely taught me if there was an even chance, impossible chance, unlikely chance, likely chance and if something was certain. I strongly recommend everyone to play the chance games.

    Yours truly,
    Natalie

    • Cecilia

      Dear Natalie,

      You’ve been working really hard during these few weeks. Keep up the great work!

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia ;P

  7. Dear Natalie,

    Woww!!!! You got them all correct in one go!! You should be proud of yourself. It took me a longgg time to figure the last one out. I like your even chance one it was very different to the others well done. It sounds like you have been practising a lot on chance no wonder you got all of them right.

    Good Girl,
    Andrea

  8. Friendly Bestie Natalie

    Dear Andrea,
    Thanks!!! You worked so hard as well!! You kept on trying even though you got it wrong. You are so persistent. 🙂 😀 :p

    Sincerely,
    Natalie

  9. Moufid

    Dear five white and miss Azzopardi

    I learnt a lot for the past few days.
    It is a skinny chance that I will pick up a yellow counter.
    It is a sure thing that I will pick up a purple counter.
    I will hardly pick out a green counter

  10. Cecilia

    Dear Five white and Miss Azzopardi,

    I hope everyone had a great time during our maths lesson, Today I learnt all about chance. Here are some examples,

    I am likely to pick out a purple counter.
    I am unlikely to pick out a yellow counter .
    It is impossible to pick out a red Lego piece.
    I have an even chance of picking out a Blue and Green counter.
    It is certain that I will pick out a counter.

    Thanks!
    Cecilia 🙂

  11. Isabella.N

    Dear Five White And Miss Azzopardi,

    I have learnt alot these past few days in maths about chance look:
    *I am Likely to pick out a purple counter
    *It is improbable to pick out a yellow counter
    *It is impossible to pick out a pink counter
    *There is an even chance of picking out a green and blue counter
    *It is certain to pick up a counter

    Yours Truly,
    Isabella.N

  12. Josephine

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and Five White,

    This is my second try and this is what I ended up with:
    I am likely to pick out a purple counter
    It is certain that I will pick out a counter
    It is unlikely to get a yellow counter
    It is an even chance of picking blue or green
    It is impossible to pick out a rainbow counter
    Do you think this right?

    Bye,
    Josephine

  13. Dear Andrea,

    I learnt many things about you comment for chance.

    Kind regards,

    James

  14. Alicia

    Dear Miss.Azzopardi and Five White,

    Chance is very easy thanks for Miss.Azzopardi who taught us. Here are the questions. ???
    I am likely to pick out a purple counter.
    I am unlikely to pick out a yellow counter.
    It is impossible to pick out a stripy counter.
    I have an even chance of picking out a blue or a green.
    It is certain that I will pick out a counter.

    Your Sincerely,
    Alicia

    • josephine

      Dear Alicia,

      You got all the question right and your right we should give a big THANK YOU to Miss Azzopardi!!

      Bye,
      Josephine

  15. Dear Alicia,

    Wow! You got them all correct! But the last sentence try naming all the counters. You can take ideas from other comments. Well Done!

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

Leave a Reply

