Spelling

Miss Azzopardi has noticed that many students in Five White get slightly confused when it comes to using the correct their, there and they’re. Take a look at the following examples.

There – use there when you are referring to a place.

  • There is a lovely store on the corner of that street.
  • Your book is over there on the floor. 

There is also used when followed by the words are, is, am, was and were.

  • There are many different colours on that poster. 
  • There is some milk in the fridge.
  • There was a lovely blue shirt in that shop.

Their – use their to indicate possession. The noun in the sentence belongs to them.

  • My friends have lost their hats.
  • Their dog was very cute. 

They’re is a contraction of the words they and are.

  • They’re my friends. (They are my friends).
  • They’re playing basketball. (They are playing basketball).
  • They’re wearing the same jacket. (They are wearing the same jacket). 

Leave a comment and have a go at writing a sentence with their, there and they’re.

Challenge: Try writing one sentence with their, there and they’re in it! For example: Their dog ran over there and they’re running after it!

ID-10069172

FreeDigitalPhotos.Net / Stuart Miles 

23 Comments

Filed under English

23 responses to “Spelling

  1. Cecilia

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Thanks for posting for posts! Here is my sentence about their, there and they’re:

    Their toy aero-plane flew under there.Therefore, they’re going to get it.

    Sincerely,
    Cecilia

    • Dear Cecilia,
      You made perfect sentences using there, their and they’re. Congratulations!!! I used to always get confused between them, but know I don’t!

      Kind regards,
      Natalie

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Cecilia,

      I think that is a perfect sentence!!! keep up the good work…..

      Yours truly,
      Jennifer.A

  2. Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    I finally know the difference between there, their and they’re! To prove it here are some sentences:
    Their: I like their clothes.
    There: There is a pink shirt in my closet
    They’re: They’re very cute.
    Did I get them right?

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

  3. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    I definitely know now what the different there, their, and they’re means. Now I won’t have to be confused everyday between them! I have also been practicing putting them in a sentence. Here is mine: That boy ran over there at their house, and now they’re really upset. I hope it is correct!! Have you tried putting there, their and they’re in sentences?

    Have a great holiday,
    Natalie =D

    • Dear Natalie,

      Same I finally know the differences! Congratulations you got them all right! It looks like you have been practicing a lot. I have done my sentences check out my comment and you will see them.

      Sincerely,
      Andrea

    • Cecilia

      Dear Natalie,

      Wow, You definitely practised your spelling words! Because your sentence
      is perfect. Congratulations!

      Happy Holidays!
      Cecilia 🙂

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Natalie,

      good and great job Natalie!!!

      Yours truly,
      Jennifer.A

  4. Isabella.N

    Dear Five White And Miss Azzopardi,

    I am always practicing my There’s, their’s, they’re look
    * Theirs your blue shirt.
    * There is a house.
    * They’re at the park.
    Can you write your their’s, there’s, they’re?????

    Have A Happy Holidays,
    Isabella.N: )

  5. josephine

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The words are sometimes confusing but i bet everyone got the hang on it
    – i love their t shirt
    – there is your skateboard
    – they’re at the party
    Do you think this is good?

    Have a nice day,
    Josephine

    • josephine

      Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

      This is my sentence for they’re, their and there
      They’re are over there playing on their skateboards
      Do you think this good?

      Sincerley,
      Josephine

  6. JENNIFER

    Dear Miss Azzzopardi and five white,

    I always have trouble with my There Their They’re
    There
    My pencil is over there
    My book is over there
    My bottle is over there
    Their
    their is your book
    their is your house
    their is Bankstown’s pool
    They’re
    they’re driving home
    they’re leaving
    they’re at the park

    Kind regards
    Jennifer.E

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Jennifer.E,

      WOW!!!! your really good at there , their and they’re….those were good examples.

      Kind regards,
      Jennifer.A

  7. Jennifer.A

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    Here are my there, their and they’re:

    There
    -My book is over there.
    -Look over there.
    -My pencil is there.

    Their
    -Theirs your pencil.
    -Theirs your hat.
    -Theirs your shirt.

    They’re
    -They’re leaving.
    -They’re going on holidays.
    -They’re sleeping

    Have you had any trouble with there,their and they’re?

    Kind regards,
    Jennifer.A

    • Cecilia

      Dear Jennifer A,

      Wow,You’ve learnt a lot! Well maybe you already knew them but well done! Actually I have had any trouble with them.

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia

    • josephine

      Dear Jennifer A,

      I can see that you are working well in spelling you seem to know what they’re, their and there mean. i bet you learnt a lot
      Keep it up!!

      Bye,
      Josephine

  8. Jennifer.A

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    here is my sentence:
    The boy went over *there to get the ball he threw at *their house, *They’re very angry with the boy

    • Dear Jennifer.A,

      Wow! You got them all right! What I liked about your sentence is that you put all there, their and they’re in it. Congratulations!

      Sincerely,
      Andrea

Leave a Reply

