Happy Mother’s Day!

Mother’s day is a very special day for all mothers. Our mums do so much for us, but most importantly, they love us more than anything. You should show your mum how much you love and appreciate her everyday, but especially on Mother’s Day. Read the poem below with your mum.

More Than A Mother

When God set the world in place, when He hung the stars up in space,
when He made the land and the sea, then He made you and me.

He sat back and saw that was good, He saw things to be as they should.
Just one more blessing He had in store; He created a mother,
but whatever for?

He knew a mother would have a special place to shine
His reflection on her child’s face.
A mother will walk the extra mile just to see her children smile.
She’ll work her fingers to the bone to make a house into a home.

A mother is there to teach and guide, a mother will stay right by your side.
She’ll be there through your pain and strife, she’ll stay constant in your life.

A mother will lend a helping hand until you have the strength to stand.
She’ll pick you up when you are down,
when you need a friend she’ll stick around.

A mother is one who listens well, will keep her word; will never tell.

A mother never pokes or pries but stands quietly by your side,
giving you the strength you need, encouraging you to succeed.

A mother is one who can be strong when you need someone to lean on.

You’re more than a mother to me; a reflection of Him in your face I see,
a love that knows no boundaries.

I’m glad that you chose to be all this and more to me.
You share a love that knows no end, you’re more than my mother,
you are my friend.

Daisy

lamnee / FreeDigitalPhotos.Net

What do you love about your mum? 

How do you spend Mother’s Day?

Can you get your mum to comment about what part of the poem she likes best and why?

23 Comments

Filed under Special Days

23 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    I love my mum so much that I just want to thank her everyday. Here are the answers to the questions:
    What do you love about your mum?
    What I love about my mum is that she always loves me and forgives me even though I have done something wrong.

    How do you spend Mother’s Day?
    I like to spend Mother’s Day by giving going out and giving her special gifts.

    Yours truly,
    Natalie

  2. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    I loved the poem so much that, I couldn’t choose what my favourite part was in the poem. But I eventually came down to one part:
    You’re more than a mother to me; a reflection of Him in your face I see,
    a love that knows no boundaries.

    I’m glad that you chose to be all this and more to me.
    You share a love that knows no end, you’re more than my mother,
    you are my friend.

    Good luck,
    Marisol- Natalie’s mother

    • Andrea

      Dear Marisol- Natalie’s mother,

      I’m glad you liked the poem. That is a very nice part i liked it too 🙂
      Happy Mothers Day

      Sincerely,
      Andrea

  3. Nhung (Nathan's mum)

    Dear Miss Azzopardi & 5W,
    Thank you for sharing such a lovely poem. My favourite part was
    “A mother will lend a helping hand until you have the strength to stand.
    She’ll pick you up when you are down,
    when you need a friend she’ll stick around”, because it truely reflected a mother’s unconditional love.
    God blessed me with a very caring mother who went beyond the call of duty many times.
    Wishing all mothers a wonderful Mother’s Day filled with lots of sweet kisses & hugs.

    • Hello Nhung,

      Thank you for commenting! I hope you had a lovely day and congratulations on winning the biggest prize in the Mother’s Day raffle! You definitely deserve it!

      Sincerely,
      Miss Azzopardi

  4. Yen - Cecilia's Mum

    Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    Thank you for sharing these poems. My favourite part of the poem is, ” I’m glad that you chose to be all this and more to me.
    You share a love that knows no end, you’re more than my mother,
    you are my friend.” This part shows how strong your love is.
    Happy Mother’s day.

    • Andrea

      Dear Yen – Cecilia’s Mum,

      We wanted to share this comment to show how much we love our mums. That part is a very nice, strong loving part you are right!
      Happy Mothers Day 🙂

  5. Nathan

    Dear 5 White And Miss Azzopardi,

    Your poem was really great! What I love about my mum that she is kind, loving and nice! I spent Mother’s Day by going to my grandparents house. How did you celebrate your Mother’s Day?

    Sincerely,
    Nathan

  6. Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    Happy Mothers day to all mum’s out there. What Ilike about my mum is that she is reliable and responsible, she is trust worthy and she is always by my side. Every year i spend mothers day by making my mum a surprise breakfast in bed. Then go to one of my cousins house to have lunch. Then to end the day we spend dinner in a restaurant. Mothers day is so fun because its a time were you get to say a big thank you to your mum!

    Happy Mothers Day,
    Andrea

  7. Alicia

    Dear: 5W & Miss.Azzopardi,

    When I read this poem I cry. When I see my mum i,m glad. My favorite part of the poem is every single word. I love it. Thanks miss for putting this lovely poem up for all those mothers in life or in heaven. Ijust want to say HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!!!

    Kind regards,
    Alicia

  8. josephine

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The thing i like about my mum is that they are really caring and loving.
    i spend my Mother’s day is to go to a restaurant and have dinner and give her the presents i bought her and she was surprised!
    How was your Mother’s day?

    Bye,
    Josephine

    • Andrea

      Dear Josephine,

      Yes mums are really caring and loving! You must of had a really fun mothers day 🙂 I spent mothers day similar to yours.

      Sincerely,
      Andrea

    • Dear Josephine,

      I agree mothers day can be fun because your ding something for your mum.

      King regards

      James

  9. Jihan-Andrea's Mum

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love this poem. It is very sweet. This poem really warmed up my heart! I hope everyone enjoyed Mothers Day as much as I did.
    Happy Mothers Day!

    JIhan

    • Dear JIhan,

      My name is James and i am Andrea’s classmate and i hope you have a fantastic mother’s day.

      Kind regards

      James [Andrea’s mate]

  10. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    On Mother’s Day my Dad, sisters and me made breakfast in bed for my mum and then I gave her the card I made for her from school.Then we went to a restraunt in the City and we got home at like 9 o’clock at night so I think my mum had a really good day!

    Sincerely,
    Tony

  11. Isabella

    Dear Five White And Miss Azzopardi,

    What i like about my mum is that she is funny and likes to take me places and she LOVES craft just like me also she is loving and caring but most of all she loves me and i love her.
    I spent my mothers day at my cousins and we had bacon and eggs for breakfast then we went to a restaurant in the evening. What did you do?

    Kind Regards.
    Isabella.N

    • Angel

      Dear Isabella,

      I LOVE MY MUM TOO! I’m sure your mum loves you as we’ll. for Mother’s Day me and my brother made my mum yummy breakfast in bed and then we gave her all her presents then we went to my mums mum and dads house (my grandma/grandpa) and all my cousins and aunts were there and we had a BBQ it was so fun, I’m sure you had a wonderful day too.

  12. Brenda

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and Five White,
    I adore my mum she is so cute, funny, kind and best of all she always takes care of me.
    I spend mothers day by taking my mum to my grandmothers house and having dinner than we cut the special cake for mothers day and we give her the best card and best gifts.

    Kind Regards,
    Brenda

  13. grace

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5w,
    I love my mum she is always there for me and always takes care of the family
    Bye,
    Grace

  14. Kong

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5W

    I spent Mothers Day by giving her gifts and staying with my mum. I also told my family to have dinner as a family. My family and I enjoyed the night especially my mum.

    Sincerely
    Kong

Leave a Reply

