Addition and Subtraction

The next topic in Mathematics that we will be learning about is addition and subtraction. We use addition and subtraction in our everyday lives more than you probably realise! Your parents might use addition and subtraction as they calculate how much their groceries are going to cost when they are at the supermarket, Miss Azzopardi uses addition and subtraction  when marking students’ tests and you might use addition and subtraction when you purchase items from the canteen to see if you have enough money to buy the items you want or to work out your change.

Can you think of any other times people might use addition and subtraction? Leave a comment with your answers!

Challenge: Ask your parents to write a comment about the times they use addition and subtraction in their daily lives. They might use it at work or around the house!

Try the following games to improve your addition and subtraction skills. Leave a comment below explaining which game(s) you played and what you thought of the game(s).

ID-10033510

FreeDigitalPhotos.Net / tungphoto

27 Comments

Filed under Mathematics

27 responses to “Addition and Subtraction

  1. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Nice post! A time where my family uses Addition and Subtraction is when we get bills for our new house and we add all the bills together. The games helped me achieve more.

    Sincerely,
    Cecilia

    • Andrea

      Dear Cecilia,

      My family too. My dad tells me he always uses addition and subtraction when he pays the bills.

      Sincerely,
      Andrea

      • Isabelle

        Dear Cecilia,

        My family too. My mum tells me she always uses addition and subtraction when she pays the bills.

        Sincerely,
        Isabelle

  2. Alex (Amy's mum)

    Dear 5 white,

    I use addition when I go to the shops. I usually look at the price of an item and round it off to the nearest dollar, then when I pay for the groceries I am very close to my estimate.

    Your Sincerely,

    Mrs Salazar (Amy’s mum)

  3. AMY

    Dear 5 white,

    I played some of those games and it was FUN! The games I played was rock Hopper,addition target number,addition facts and subtraction machine. They were all fun games to play. I think everyone would like them too. 🙂

    Sincerely,

    Amy

  4. James

    I use addition when I go shopping with my parents when we add the money.

    From,
    James

  5. Josephine

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    This is a great post to start in math’s addition and subtraction.
    I use addition and subtraction when i am shopping if their isn’t and barcode scanner to check the price i just add it up mentally or if i am paying in the self service station i just get my money and minus the price and get that amount of change.
    How do you use addition and subtraction?

    Sincerely,
    Josephine

    • Grace

      Dear Josephine,
      I use it as well when I’m at the shops. I find both the price tags and I add it up mentally.
      Kind regards,
      Grace

  6. Marisol- Natalie's Mum

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    I absolutely love this post! I would need to use addition and subtraction when given change and bills such as school fees. When do you use addition and subtraction, in your daily lives?

    Sincerely,
    Marisol- Natale’s Mum

    • Josephine

      Dear Marisol,

      I loved this post too this gives us a kick start in maths. My mum also uses addition and subtraction for school fees and stuff like that.
      I use addition and subtraction for shopping to give the right amount money to the cashier.

      Kind regards,
      Josephine

  7. Natalie

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    This post about addition and subtraction, should be seen by everyone in the world! Addition and subtraction is definitely important to learn because you will need to use it various times such as, when you go shopping and you are checking if you got the correct amount of change, and if you are paying the bills. I hope everyone knows how to add and subtract because you eventually need to use in our daily lives!

    Yours truly,
    Natalie

    • Cecilia

      Dear Natalie,

      I also use addition and subtraction while I’m going shopping or paying for the bills.

      Kind Regards,
      Cecilia

  8. grace

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5w,

    I played a few games and thy were really fun and I’m sure everyone will enjoy the games !
    kind regards ,
    Grace

  9. Andrea

    Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    I am enjoying doing addition and subtraction. So far I have learnt a lot of addition and subtraction language. Me and my family use addition and subtraction when we have bills.

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

    • Josephine

      Dear Andrea,

      Me too addition and subtraction is an enjoyable lesson for maths.
      I used addition and subtraction when we have bills as well!

      King regards,
      Josephine

  10. Anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I use addition and subtraction when I go to the shop. I add the payment of one item and keep adding until I get the total price for all the items. For example: 25+56+76=157

    Sincerely Anthony

  11. Grace

    Dear Anthony,
    I’m pretty sure you used one of the strategies to find the answer.
    Kind regards,
    Grace

  12. Isabelle

    Dear 5White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I am enjoying doing addition and subtraction. So far I have learnt a lot of addition and subtraction language. Me and my family use addition and subtraction when we have bills.

    Sincerely,
    Isabelle

    • Josephine

      Dear Isabelle,

      I am enjoying addition and subtraction in maths as well and i learnt a lot of new words in addition in subtraction that i never knew well some i knew.

      Kind regards,
      Josephine

  13. tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    A time my family uses addition is at the shops where my Mum has to add up all the things she is going to buy and when my Dad and Mum Add up all the phone bills and stuff.

    Sincerly,
    Tony

  14. Dear Miss Azzopardi And 5 White,\

    I use addition and subtraction mostly when I do tutoring, go shopping with my family and when I count my coins! 😀 I played Rock Hopper, Count on Convict and Sum Sense, these games really helped me with addition and subtraction, I especially liked Rock Hopper because I could add decimals!

    Sincerely,
    Nathan

  15. Kong

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    People use addition and subtraction when they are going to shopping they need to calculate the total for the price, when people are going tutoring, and when doing work! Even in games you need to use addition and subtraction. I played some maths games and it helped me improve even better!

    Kind Regards,
    Kong

Leave a Reply

