Adjectives

In English, the students in Five White have been learning to write Literary Descriptions. It is very important that Literary Descriptions contain useful and interesting adjectives. An adjective describes a noun or pronoun, for example:

Three white swans swam in the lake.

She put several purple flowers in the vase.

Adjectives can be very useful as they can turn an ordinary sentence into an extraordinary one! When they are used correctly, they can make your conversation or your piece of writing very interesting. In order to use adjectives effectively, you need to choose them wisely.

While adjectives keep our sentences interesting, they are also very important in our daily lives. Adjectives help us to explain what we want. For example, if you wanted to buy a car, you would need to use adjectives to describe the kind of car you wanted – you couldn’t go to the car dealer and simply ask for the car of your dreams without explaining it. You also couldn’t ask for the specific coloured ice block at the canteen without using an adjective! Can you think of any other times when you would need to use adjectives?  

Click here for a list of 1 100 adjectives!

Challenge: Using the list of adjectives in the link above and/or in the Wordle below, write at least five interesting sentences.

(If you aren’t sure of what one of the adjectives means, you need to find it’s meaning before using it in a sentence).   

Adjectives - Wordle

16 Comments

Filed under English

16 responses to “Adjectives

  1. Alicia

    Dear: Five White and Miss.Azzopardi,

    Adjectives can describe anything.
    Eg: I feel fantastic, the horse galloped during the race and the house is massive.
    Can anyone think of any other adjective?

    Your sincerely,
    Alicia

    • Grace

      Dear Alicia,
      adjectives can describe anything and I know a lot of adjectives,
      -marvellous
      -gigantic
      -outrageous
      -monstrous and many more
      kind regards,
      Grace

  2. tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    In English i have been doing a Literary Description on the Google.Doc. I have been working hard to try make mine perfect and i hope you can teach me more about Literary Descriptions.

    Sincerly,
    Tony

  3. Grace

    Dear miss Azzopardi and 5white,

    I love to learn about literary descriptions and adjectives! I have learnt a lot about them and I try to use them in everything I do because it makes my work even more interesting. Do you like making your work interesting?
    sincerely,
    Grace

    • Josephine

      Dear Grace,

      I love to make my work interesting because if it isn’t interesting it will be dull and boring if it is interesting it will be a better literary description.

      Sincerely,
      Josephine

  4. Natalie

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    Using adjectives are definitely important for us to know. Without them our sentences would be dull and boring. We use them to describe someone and it makes our world a lot more better! These are five sentences including awesome adjectives:
    – That is a marvelous, gigantic, ancient, white, Chinese, wooden sculpture.
    – A colossal and enormous bone!
    – Such a thoughtful, Spanish girl!
    – A gloomy, petite, ancient, black house.
    – A terrific, modern and Vietnamese technology!

    I hope they are all good. Do you know some other sentences that use cool adjectives?

    • Grace

      Dear Natalie.
      I really like using adjectives as well because I don’t like my literary description dull and boring and I can think of a few sentences right now like
      -A beautiful, rectangular, red, Chinese, leather handbag
      -That is a gorgeous, tiny, young, brown pony
      -An annoying, little, 5 year old, French boy
      kind regards,
      Grace

  5. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I think everyone is doing a great job at adjectives!!!!In your life you can use adjectives when you are trying to find something from a shop like a certain butter or cream or something like that. My sentences are : I noticed a wicked, miniature, lovely, marvellous toy. I really wanted to buy the amazing toy but my mum was depressed and disagreed. It was awful I couldn’t get it , it was such a terrific, tremendous toy. I got a toy that was just like it but it was enormous, admirable and joyful toy. It dashed around and raced other toy cars, I was thrilled that my toy was so excellent: I can’t wait to see everyone else’s sentences!!!!

    Have a good weekend,
    Jennifer.A

  6. Grace

    Dear Jennifer,
    I think most of my things are so awesome but my favourite one is my IPod!!
    it is cool, fun to play with and is the most joyful thing I have ever had
    kind regards,
    Grace

  7. Moufid

    Dear five white and miss Azzoparsdi

    The adjectives I would use in my sentence are:
    wicked
    fat
    crazy
    skinny
    enormous
    exceptional
    dreadful
    and disagreeable, we have been learning lots of new adjectives and I think the whole class is improving

    sincerely:
    Moufid

  8. Amy

    Dear Five white and Miss Azzopardi,

    Learning Adjectives are fun.I have learnt a lot like:
    – Look at that beautiful,small,ancient,brown tree
    – A lovely,fat,old,brown cat
    I could also use
    unhappy
    happy
    dashed
    excellent
    amazing
    gloomy
    and lots more

    Kind Regards,
    Amy

    • Josephine

      Dear Amy,

      I agree adjectives is really fun and i can see that you enjoy adjectives and found a lot of them on the link Miss Azzopardi provided!

      Kind regards,
      Josephine

  9. Anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    In year five we are learning about literary description and in our literary description we have to add adjectives. Here are some of the adjectives I have learnt. For example:
    -hansom
    -huge
    -young
    -rectangular
    -blue
    -Australian
    Those are some of the adjectives that I have learnt during English.
    What are some of the adjectives that you have learnt during English.

    Sincerely
    Anthony

  10. Josephine

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    In English we are learning about literary description and in literary description we definitely need adjectives without adjectives it’ll sound boring.
    We can use adjectives in our lives by maybe writing a story or in a shop
    how it describes the store it is sometimes in catalogues
    The link that Miss Azzopardi provided i found soo much adjectives her are some words and sentence i found interesting:
    – That was a abandon scary gigantic house
    – He was a boisterous petite young man
    – That was a dull useless ugly toy
    – She was a slow forgetful old women
    – He was a quiet miniature funny dwarf
    What other adjectives can you think of?

    Sincerely,
    Josephine

  11. Nathan

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5 White,

    Other times when I need to use adjectives are when I need to persuade someone, write an exposition, write a discussion and when I complement someone. Here are my sentences:

    The angry, rich, infamous, huge, troll.
    The odd,mushy, tiny, red mushroom.
    The old-fashioned, rusty, gold, watch.
    The long, tall, round, British boy.
    The important, dusty, paper, document.

    Sincerely,
    Nathan

Leave a Reply

