Cooking Up a Storm!

The students in Five White attended ‘Cooking Up a Storm’ for the second time and they made smoothies and frappes. The students learnt new words such as ‘combine’ and ‘blend’. Take a look at the photos below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t forget, if you are interested in drawing a picture that may appear in the cook book, get started and bring it into class when you’re finished. 

What ingredients did you use to make your smoothie or frappe?

Can you use the words ‘combine’ and ‘blend’ in a sentence to describe how you made the smoothies and frappes?

How do/could you help your parents or older siblings cook at home?

33 Comments

Filed under Cooking Up a Storm

33 responses to “Cooking Up a Storm!

  1. Grace

    Dear miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    I really enjoyed the smoothies! I used berries, milk, and a little banana. They were delicious!! I had to combine all the ingredients together and then blend it to make a frappe and I will try a salad and some sandwiches for lunch. What could you make for your family?
    Sincerely,
    Grace

    • Dear Grace,

      I agree, The smoothies were very delicious. What I would make for my family is the chicken salad pasta we made last week.

      Kind Regards,
      Cecilia

  2. Well done miss Azzopardi and 5W. This would be a great activity for students to try at my school.

    • Grace

      Dear Nick,

      I think you should really try that at your school because it is really fun and they would defiantly enjoy it as much as we do.

      sincerely,
      Grace

    • Dear Nick,

      Thank you, It is a wonderful experience for children to cook. I hope you have fun with your students while joining the ” Cooking up a Storm ” activity!

      Good Luck,
      Cecilia

    • tony

      Dear Nick,

      I hope you have liked our cooking up a storm program, i really think your school should try it because they can learn more about healthy foods and they will be able to learn about how to eat the right food. Also they will learn about what food has too much sugar in it which is bad for you.

      Sincerly,
      Tony

  3. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Cooking up a Storm was very fun! We were making smoothies and a frappe, In the smoothies we blended berries,bananas, milk and honey for the frappe we blended different types of fruit. My favourite drink was the smoothie, the sweet aroma of honey was very nice. 🙂

    Yours Truly,
    Cecilia

    • AMY

      Dear Cecilia,

      I agree cooking up a storm was fun.What did you like frappes or smoothies? mine was smoothies.

      Sincerely,
      Amy

    • Grace

      Dear Cecilia,

      My favourite drink was the smoothie and I agree the aroma honey was great! It gave the smothie much more flavour.

      Kind regards,
      Grace

  4. tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azoppardi,

    The frappes and smoothies were so nice !! I put Watermelon and Juicy Oranges and i put Orange juice just to make the flavor a bit more tastier .
    I am really looking forward for our next lesson for cooking up a storm !!

    Sincerely,
    Tony

  5. tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I think the School should consider this as a idea that is similar to ” Cooking up a storm ” which is ” Teaching students to make their own bed ” , ” Ironing and Washing your own clothes ” and ” Teaching students to lose weight and teaching them to get into sports/fitness “.

    Yours Truly,
    Tony.

  6. Natalie

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    The frappes and smoothies were absolutely delicious! For my frappe I blended watermelon, rockmelon and another melon that I cannot remember. I would help them cook at home by, trying to help them know when something is cooked. What flavours did you put for your frappe?

    Sincerely,
    Natalie

    • Josephine

      Dear Natalie,

      The drinks we made a very delicious. i didn’t make a frappe because i got a brain freeze but Chef Debbie let me try the frappe she made and the ingredients she combined in the blender and cranberry juice, rock melon, honey dew and watermelon and it was delicious.

      Sincerely,
      Josephine

  7. AMY

    Dear five white,

    I loved the smoothies the fruit that i put in was banana i thought i didn’t like it but it was delicious. The frappes were not so nice for me, i used three different types of watermelon and cranberry juice. I am looking forward to our next cooking up a storm! :p

    Sincerely,
    Amy

    • Dear Amy,

      The frappes were not nice for me either but i am really looking forward for the next lesson

      Sincerely,
      Natalie

    • Brenda

      Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,
      My ingredients in the smoothie where frozen banana’s, honey, milk.
      I combined milk, honey and frozen banana’s and then we clicked the blend button and blened it. I can teach my little cousin how to cook by explaing the instruction to her and teaching her how to cut.

      Kind regards,
      Brenda

      • Grace

        Dear Brenda,
        I think if you teach your little cousin how to those things she will really enjoy it and she will hep her mum cook at home.
        Sincerely,
        Grace

    • Dear Amy,

      I agree,The smoothies were very delicious!

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia

    • Grace

      Dear Amy,
      I really enjoyed the smoothies as well though I did not really like the frappes as well.
      Kind regards,
      Grace

  8. Kong

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved the smoothies! it tasted great. What i put in my frappe was watermelon and oranges (I think i forgot some). I put in red cordial as the juice. I didn’t like the frappe that much, but i enjoyed the smoothie. David put in everything as orange flavour. He said it tasted great! I wish i made it with oranges too!

    • Josephine

      Dear Kong,

      The smoothies are great but i liked the frappes aswell but i got a brain freeze but i still like the frappe!

      Bye,
      Josephine

  9. Anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved the smoothies! It was nice to drink. In my smoothie I put bananas, honey and milk. I wasn’t really a fan of the frappe, because I put all the fruit and I put some cranberry juice in the blender and mixed it all up. When I started drinking the frappe my lip started to burn and that wasn’t good. I wish I also just put orange and orange juice because David said he liked it as Kong said.
    Did you like the frappe or smoothie better?
    Sincerely
    Anthony

    • Tony

      Dear Anthony,

      It is good to know that you liked the smoothies and now i know it is worth eating healthy foods because it is good for our health and it makes us feel much better and have more energy.

      King regards,
      Tony

  10. Josephine

    Dear Five white and Miss Azzopardi,

    The smoothie and frappes are soo scrumptious and delicious.In my smoothie i put in banana,mixed berries and milk then i put in ice but i didn’t make a frappe but chef Debbie gave me one cup and it was delicious i believed she put in watermelon,rock melon,honey dew and some cranberry juice she then but ice to make the drink be more thicker then we combined all the ingredients in the blender and blend it until the ingredients look like it is ready. At home i will try to make chicken pasta salad and banana smoothies because it is easy to make and it isn’t that dangerous just some parts we need help from our parents! What will you make your family from cooking up a storm or your own creations?

    Kind regards,
    Josephine

  11. Grace

    Dear Josephine,
    My favourite part so far in cooking up a storm was the chicken pasta salad. It was soo delicious that I will make it at home for my family.
    Kind regards,
    Grace

  12. Dear Miss Azzopardi and Five White,

    I think that the banana milkshakes were delicious but what I don’t like is the horrible taste of pineapple smoothies. I like it when have to put in the recipes to make the milkshakes and guzzling it.

  13. Dear Miss Azzopardi and Five White,

    I think that the banana milkshakes were delicious but what I don’t like is the horrible taste of pineapple smoothies. I like it when have to put in the recipes to make the milkshakes and guzzling it.

    Kind regards,
    Hagen

  14. Alicia

    Dear: Five White and Miss.Azzopardi,

    What type of fruits did you use to make the frappe and smoothie? Was it nice?

    Your pal,
    Alicia

  15. Nathan

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5 White,

    I really loved the smoothie! In my smoothie, I put: bananas, honey and milk,
    Here are my sentences:
    The boy combined strawberries, bananas, honey and milk to make his drink.
    The man used a blender to blend the fruit.
    I can help my mum cook by getting the ingredients for her to cook.

    Sincerely,
    Nathan

  16. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I Hope you guys enjoyed making the pizza’s at Cooking Up A Storm and i wish i was their because everyone was commenting to me that it was so ice and that there was evan a Chocolate Pizza !!! 😦

    King Regards,
    Tony

  17. simone

    dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,

    i really liked it and i hope everyone enjoyed it

    kind Regards,
    simone

Leave a Reply

