Yagoona Nursing Home

On Tuesday 11th June 2013, Five White visited Yagoona Nursing Home. The students had a fantastic time as the whole class performed the school song for the elderly. Jennifer. A, Andrea, Jennifer. E , Angel and Isabella performed a rap and Moufid and Nathan played the piano. There are some very talented students in Five White! The elderly really enjoyed the performance and the students enjoyed meeting the residents. We were also very lucky to meet a lady named Stella who was 103!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What did you enjoy about visiting Yagoona Nursing Home?

Why do you think it is important for us to visit the nursing home?  

24 Comments

Filed under Special Days

24 responses to “Yagoona Nursing Home

  1. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    What I found interesting about going to the nursering home is that I listened to their back ground stories they told me, It was very interesting! I hope we can come and visit again next time.

    Sincerely,
    Cecilia

    • Amy

      Dear Cecilia,

      I also liked listening to people telling their stories and I hope we can go there again it was fun 🙂

      Sincerely,
      Amy

  2. Grace

    Dear miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    I really enjoyed watching some people playing the piano and getting to know a bit more about the people in the nursing home. I think that we should visit the nursing home a bit more so that the people there don’t feel lonely and so that they have someone to talk to. I go to the nursing Home that my mum works at mostly every weekend and I talk to the people there and they are really friendly. Do you ever go to a nursing home on the weekend?

    Sincerely,
    Grace

    • Josephine

      Dear Grace,

      I enjoyed the boys plays on the piano but i didn’t play because i forgot some notes and visiting the nursing home more makes the elderly not feel lonely!

      Bye,
      Josephine

    • Tony

      Dear Grace,

      I don’t usually go to a Nursing home on the weekends but it is very nice of you to go there with your Mum. What Nursing home do you go to on the weekends ?

  3. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    At the nursing home i felt quit sad for the people because it was weird to see them suffer and what i enjoyed about the nursing home was when we sang the school song, shook the residents hands/the old peoples hands and when we got to meet them and talk to them.

    King Regards,
    Tony

  4. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I think it is important to visit the Nursing Home because it gives the old people courage that they are still in this world and that they are still being cared for and still being loved .The doctors at the Nursing Home also give the old people Courage and Self-Control and that is part of ” The Fruits Of The Holy Spirit.

    Sincerly,
    Tony.

    • Brenda

      Dear Tony,

      That is so true. I think you really like the nursing home people because you are showing love, joy, kindness, faithfulness and courage, they are part of the seven gifts and you always show them especially to the people in the nursing home. You are a great person and when you grow up you will become a great friend.

      Kind Regards,
      Brenda

  5. Brenda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I enjoyed about the nursing home is when a man kissed me on the check and we toke a photo together. I really think that he likes me cause i might remind him of someone he knows well. I think it is important to visit the nursing home people because if we visit them they will think that people still care for them and love them. It is good to visit the nursing home people because we are showing courage.I like showing courage because it makes me a feel like a better person because i am helping them feel loved.

    Lots of love,
    Brenda

    • Grace

      Dear Brenda,

      I think it is really sweet that the man kissed you because he doesn’t see his grandchildren all the time maybe and he might feel really happy to see someone there talking to him.

      yours truly,
      Grace

  6. Alicia

    Dear: Five white and Miss.Azzopardi,

    It was really exciting to see the elderlys and sing our school song! Well what I enjoyed during the nursing home was everything. Why we had to go it is because some elderlys don’t get a chance to see their family, but if St.Felix would go they will appreciate what we do! So that’s why we had to go.

    Peace,
    Alicia

    • Josephine

      Dear Alicia,

      I think everyone was excited to visit the elderlys! and it is sad because some elderlys won’t get to see their family.

      Bye,
      Josephine

      • Grace

        Dear Alicia,

        It was really exiting to see the elderly people and it was fun getting to do lots of thing to show the elderly people what we are doing at school. I also felt sorry for them because they don’t get to see their families.

        Kind regards,
        Grace

  7. Josephine

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I think it is important to visit the nursing home because the elderlys might not see that much children anymore and we came to make the happy and not lonely anymore.
    I like going to the nursing home because we make a performance in front of then and when we shake hands with elderlys they get happy and some even told me stories! Did you enjoy the visit to the nursing home?

    Bye,
    Josephine

    • Grace

      Dear Josephine,

      I really enjoyed going to the nursing home because it is really nice seeing the elderly people smile.
      Kind regards,
      Grace

  8. Anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    What I found Interesting about the nursing home is that I liked meting other people and can you believe this but an old man started dancing with me! I think it is important to visit the nursing home because old people fill lonely and they want to meet new people and talk to them, otherwise the old people fill bored.

    Sincerely
    Anthony

    • Dear Five White,

      I really loved visiting the nursing home. I enjoyed talking to them and learning about them, I hope that they liked our performance. I think it is important to visit the nursing home because they sometimes might feel sad and lonely and we visit them it makes them feel happy. I really enjoyed the nursing home the people were all so lovely, i hope to visit them again. Did you enjoy singing to them?

      • Grace

        Dear Bella,

        I also enjoyed talking to talk to them and getting to know more about them and I know they loved our performance. I really enjoyed singing to them because they all had a wonderful smile on their faces.

        Bye,
        Grace

    • Kong

      Dear Anthony,

      I liked meeting other people too! I saw the old man dance with you! It was hilarious! I agree with you that it’s important to meet old people too.

      Sincerely,
      Kong

  9. Dear Five White,

    I really loved visiting the nursing home. I enjoyed talking to them and learning about them, I hope that they liked our performance. I think it is important to visit the nursing home because they sometimes might feel sad and lonely and we visit them it makes them feel happy. I really enjoyed the nursing home the people were all so lovely, i hope to visit them again. Did you enjoy singing to them?

    Sincerely,
    Bella

  10. Amy

    Dear Five White,

    It was fun going to the nursing home! I enjoyed watching people play on the piano and also liked talking to them and listening to them it was fun for me

    Sincerely,
    Amy

  11. Pingback: Five Green's Class Blog

  12. Nathan's mum

    Dear Miss Azzopardi & 5W,
    It’s so lovely to read about your visit to the nursing home. I’m sure the residents enjoyed and appreciated your company and talents. Your comments show your good nature in respecting and caring about the elderly people. It’s a great way to give back to the people who had helped build our community.

Leave a Reply

