Grandparents Day

On Friday 26th July, we celebrated Grandparents Day with a mass. Our grandparents are very special people. They have many stories about our families and our communities. Grandparents Day is a great reminder for us to ask our grandparents about their memories, family traditions and to spend time with them to create new memories!

 Below is a special prayer for grandparents.

Grandparents are a family’s greatest treasure,
The founders of a loving legacy, the greatest storytellers,
The keepers of traditions that linger on in cherished memory.
Grandparents are the family’s strong foundation.
Their very special love sets them apart.
Through happiness and sorrow,
through their special love and caring,
Grandparents keep a family close at heart.

– Author Unknown

What do you love about your grandparents?

Can you think of a have a nice memory you have of your grandparents?

What is something nice that you could do for your grandparents?

ID-100134087

Grandpa and Grand Kids by debspoons / FreeDigitalPhotos.Net

31 Comments

Filed under Special Days

31 responses to “Grandparents Day

  1. Josephine

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    That is very sweet quote for our grandparents to read!
    I love my grandparents because they read us story’s and cook me delicious food my memory with my grandparents is when i was young my mum and dad were at work so my grandparents took me too shops and the park but sadly now my grandparents are at my home country. something nice i could do is since my grandparents aren’t in Australia i will call the twice a week to see how they are doing and take time to listen to their jokes and story’s!

    Sincerely,
    Josephine

    • Hi Josephine,

      They are very lovely memories that you have of your grandparents. I think they would love to hear your voice on the phone and perhaps you could also send them cards in the post.

      Kind regards,

      Miss Azzopardi

  2. Grace

    Dear miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    I love my grandma because she was the only grandparent that was in Australia and was still alive when i was 3 years old but sadly she passed away though I still love a lot. I love my Grandma because she always use to talk to me a lot and she is really kind. I remember my grandma use to always talk to me and when i ralk really loud in the nursing home she would keep on putting her finger on her lips to make me be quiet. I also remember my grandma would always give a lollie when i get into trouble.

    Sincerley,
    Grace

  3. amanda

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love my grandparents because they take care of me and help me when i’m hurt or sad. One of my greatest memories was when we went to the park, had a picnic and played games.

    Sincerely,
    Amanda

  4. Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    What I like about is everything!!!!! The love and care for me, they do everything you could imagine 🙂 I remember ages ago we all went to a shop and they got everything for me it was the best thing ever! Everyone would laugh at them but they didn’t care at all! Something I could do for my grandparents is helping them at home because they are very helpful.

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

  5. Moufid

    I’ve had heaps of memories of my grandparents like when they used to give me horse rides and how they used to take me to the park with my two dogs, bluey and pop-eye, unfortunately my grandfather died 7 years ago from a heart attack (that’s why whenever I see a packet of cigarettes in my dad’s pocket I always throw it away)

    sincerely
    Moufid

  6. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    I absolutely love Grandparents Day! It’s such a nice time to remember all the little things they have done for you.What I love about them is that, they always give me heaps of love and they always congratulate me when I get an award. I remember when they got me loads of things for my birthday! I would like to do is:
    – Give them a big hug
    – Give them a kiss on the cheek
    – Say I love you

    What do you like about grandparents day?,
    Natalie

    • Isabelle

      Dear Natalie,

      I think that everybody’s grandparents are special. And grandparents day was fun and special.

      Kind Regards,
      Isabelle

    • Dear Natalie,

      What I like about Grandparents Day is that you get another opportunity to visit them and have fun and say,”I Love You!”

      Yours Truly,
      Cecilia

  7. Kong

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I absolutely love my grandparents! It is a nice and great day for grandparents! The memories I had with my grandparents are my grandpa and grandma taking me to a park and having fun with me at my mum’s birthday party! Something we all can do for our grandparents are:
    *Saying kind words to them such as I love you!
    *Having as great day with them such as spending time with them.
    *Treating them the best you can!
    However I can’t do those things with my grandparents, they unfortunately died. I hope other people treat their grandparent well!

    Sincerely,
    Kong

  8. Isabella.N

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I LOVE Grandparents Day, It’s a perfect time to celebrate and thank your grandparents. I love grandparents because they tell us stories of when they were younger and I can learn a lot from those stories and every time i see them I give them a BIG HUG and BIG KISS ON THE CHECK and I SAY I LOVE THEM.

    Kind Regards,
    Isabella.N

  9. Angel

    dear Miss Azzopardi and five white,

    I love my grandparents because they are very welcoming and loving and they are always there when I need them. When I was younger me my cousins and my brother used to brush my grandpas hair and we used to pretend that we were hairdressers and now we have a baby cousin named Giorgio and he always brushes my grandpas hair! Sometimes I help my grandma when she is cooking or I can help my grandpa when he is watering the plants. something that I could do which will be nice for my grandparents is to always be there when they need me! 🙂

    Your sincerely,
    Angel

  10. Simone

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and five white

    I love my grandparents and I love grandparents day.my grandparents feed my family every single day and I think it is enough.they really like feeding us a lot but I still love them.

    Kind regards,
    Simone

  11. anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I LOVE my grandparents a lot. What I love about my grandparents is that they always love me and care for me. They feed me and cook for me and always take care of me I get sick. One of the nice memories that I had with my grandparents was when I went to dreamworld in the Gold coast. Something nice is that I can do for my grandparents is cook breakfast for them because she always cooks for me and my brother.

    Sincerely
    Anthony

  12. Jennifer E

    Dear MIss Azzapardi and five white,

    I love my grandparents because they are always taking me everywhere and they are always their, my memory with my grandparents is when they would let me climb up the mango tree and they will let me eat mangos,I could take them out to dinner and have a laugh

    Kind regards ,
    Jennifer E

  13. Kevin

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    I love grandparents day! It’s part of favourite days. They give heaps of food but I get used to it. My grandparents tells stories and jokes that are interesting. We always go to the park and play and we say kind words like :I love you, you are kind and more.

  14. Isabelle

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and five white,

    I love grandparents day because it is a time to celebrate and thank your grand parents. I love my grandparents because they make funny jokes.everyday when I go there I teach them how to speak English.My grandparents gives me hugs and kisses I love my grandparents.

    Kind regards,
    Isabelle

  15. Amanda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love my grandparents because they take care of me, love me and they always include me in everything and one of my greatest memories was when we went to the park, had a picnic and played games.

    Sincerely,
    Amanda

  16. Alicia

    Dear: Five white and Miss.Azzopardi,

    I really love my grandparents so much that they love me back. Well my best memory is when I went to my first holiday to Vietnam when I was 2 years old. Something nice to do for your grandparents is at least hold their hand or say I love you.

    Your sincerely,
    Alicia

  17. Dear Five white & Miss Azzopardi,

    I love my grandparents because it how they treat me and car for me.Grandparents are so helpful it’s like there your best friend.I think the quote is great for grandparents to read.

    From,

    James

  18. Cecilia

    Dear Five White,

    Grandparents are very special. I love my Grandparents because they are always there for me and they care for others.

    Yours Truly,
    Cecilia

  19. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I LOVE my Grandparents because they are nice to me, they always buy me stuff and they are loving and caring to me and my sisters. Everyone should appreciate having Grandparents because some people do not have Grandparents and sometimes people disrespect their Grandparents after all they have done for them. So I really think people should show appreciation and love their Grandparents.

    King Regards,
    Tony

    • Kong

      Dear Tony,

      I love my grandparents too!! I also agree that some people disrespect their grandparents even for all they done!! It’s just a shame but one thing is certain grandparents love us in every way.

      Sincerely,
      Kong

  20. Jamie

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love my Grandparents.
    What I love about my Grandparents is that they are always trying to give me the best life ever.The most memory I have had with my Grandparents is when my whole family and my Grandparents went overseas,trust me it was the best time you could ever imagine.Something nice that I could do for my Grandparents is to always stay the way I am and the best person that I could be.

    Kind Regards,
    Jamie

  21. Amy

    Dear 5 white,

    I love my grandparents because they include me in everything and and also taking care of me but also love me. One of my favourite memory was when I went to the beach played in the sand and in the water.

    Sincerely,
    Amy

  22. Jennifer.A

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love my grandparents!!!
    The thing i love about my grandparents is that they always do everything for me, like my grandparents would take me anywhere i wanted to go any time.A nice memory with my grandparents is when they always would buy a pack full of a drink called Mr. Juicy and i would always drink it and they always hide it away from me. Every single day i would go to the kitchen and look everywhere for it and eventually i would find it.
    I nice thing i would love to do for my grandparents is give them a morning breakfast 🙂
    I will always say this prayer:
    Below, is a special prayer for grandparents:

    Grandparents are a family’s greatest treasure,
    The founders of a loving legacy, the greatest storytellers,
    The keepers of traditions that linger on in cherished memory.
    Grandparents are the family’s strong foundation.
    Their very special love sets them apart.
    Through happiness and sorrow,
    through their special love and caring,
    Grandparents keep a family close at heart.
    – Author Unknown
    What do you love about your grandparents?

    Yours truly,
    Jennifer.A

  23. Brenda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love my grandparents. They are so loving and caring. My nice memory of my grandparents is that every special ocassion they always invite us over for exaple on fathers day they are going to invite us to have a bbq over there house and cut a nice yummy cake. Somehting nice i could do for my grandparents isn on grandparents day I could give them a present. I really love my grandparents so much they always tell to eat or play when i go over their house and because they always love me and care for me thats why I really love my granparents so much.

    love From:
    Brenda ❤

  24. phillip

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi

    I am thankful to God for my grandparents. They
    love me a lot. One of my grandparents died before I was
    born bit I still love him a lot and I think he loves me a lot, too.

    Sincerely,
    Phillip

  25. Brenda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love my grandparents. They are so loving and caring. My nice memory of my grandparents is that every special occasion they always invite us over for example on father’s day they are going to invite us to have a bbq over there house and cut a nice yummy cake. Something nice I could do for my grandparents is on grandparent’s day I could give them a present. I really love my grandparents so much they always tell to eat or play when i go over their house and because they always love me and care for me that’s why I really love my grandparents so much.

    love From:
    Brenda ❤

Leave a Reply

