Book Month!

In August and September this year, St Felix has been celebrating book week. 

5 Reasons Why You Should Read!

  • Reading provides you with knowledge – you learn more as you read!
  • Reading books can increase your vocabulary – the more you read, the more words you will know!
  • Reading helps you to develop confidence when speaking.
  • It relieves stress and helps you to relax.
  • Reading helps you to forget everything around around you. It helps to improve your memory and increase concentration.

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” – Dr Suess 

“If you don’t like to read you haven’t found the right book.”
– J.K. Rowling 

Year five watched a performance on Tuesday 13th August called ‘The Owls Apprentice’. Click here to find out about Jenny Ellis and her puppets. Take a look at the photos below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Remember to take a photo of yourself reading in an unusual place and email it to Miss Azzopardi. 

Many students in year five have written fantastic book reviews in the ‘Year Five 2013 Book Reviews’ Google Presentation – don’t forget to read them and add some yourself!

If you could ask the owl, Hoot, a question, what would it be?

What did Hoot learn? How do you know?

What questions would you like to ask Jenny Ellis?

When and where do you like to read? Do you have a favourite book? What is it?

26 Comments

Filed under Incursion, Special Days

26 responses to “Book Month!

  1. Moufid

    Dear five white and miss Azzopardi

    Where I would read is on the couch and when I would read would probably be at 7:30.

    Sincerely
    Moufid

  2. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    My favourite books are Harry Potter and The Hunger games books because it is full of wonder and mystery. I read books anytime of the day and read books when I sit on my bed.

    Yours Sincerely,
    Cecilia

  3. Natalie

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    That day for book week was incredible! I absolutely loved it and I would recommend parents to see it next time, if it does happen again. If I could ask Hoot a question I would ask him:
    – How are you?
    – How did you have the determination to get the book?
    – How did you feel when you met new friends?
    – Will you ever do something like that again?
    – Did you like the journey?
    – Who was your favourite friend along the way?

    I know that Hoot learnt:
    – To never give up
    – Never say you can’t do anything if you haven’t tried it
    – To always follow your dreams

    I know that Hoot learnt these things because along the way he was so happy to meet new friends, to be able to fly and to be able to do the journey, all because he didn’t give up! The questions I would ask Jenny Ellis are:
    – How long did it take you to make everything?
    – Did someone help you during the play?
    – Is the play a story in a book?
    – Are you inspired by the book?
    – Would you be happy to do it again?

    I like to read on the couch, on a chair, on the swing, on my bed and on my egg chair at home. When I read, I like to read in the afternoon or on a calm sunny day. I don’t really have a favourite book, but I would DEFINITELY recommend the EJ12 series to children and even adults.

    Yours truly,
    Natalie

  4. Kong

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    If i where to ask Hoot a question it would be, how did you not know how to fly before?

    Sincerely,
    Kong

  5. AMY

    Dear Miss Azzopardi,

    I like to read in my bed or on the couch at around 7:00. My favourite book is any GO Girl books i read them a lot.

    Kind regards,
    Amy

  6. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love reading in bed because its more comfortable and it is not noisy. I like to read just before i go to bed. I like lots of books like : Zac Power, 365 days to live, Horrible History, Sport books, Diary of a wimpy kid and Scary books. What i would ask Jenny Ellis is how did she get so good at puppetry a how did she become successful ?

    Kind Regards,
    Tony

  7. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I would also ask Jenny Ellis how can you make puppets and where did you learn how to become good. Also i love books because it is a quiet time where you can read and also you can relax from stress or when you are bored. Reading is lots of Fun !!!

    Sincerly,
    Tony

  8. Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    If I could ask Jenny Ellis a question it would have to be how does she change her voice so quickly and make it so different. I would love to read in a very quiet place and a place that I could be alone in so that no body can see me make so many facial expressions and move my lips very weirdly. My favourite series is Dear Dumb Diary because they are very interesting and it makes you want to just never put the book down or never finish it. I also really like reading Angelina Anaconda because it is a book like dear dumb diary but the endings finish with something that makes you curious to read more about.

    Sincerely,
    Grace

  9. Jennifer.A

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I really liked the shadow show that we watched!! It was very interesting and adventurous 🙂 If i was to ask the owl, Hoot a question it would be: Why did you want to go on the journey, to find the green book?
    At the end, Hoot learnt that it wasn’t important that he got the book, it was the people he met on the way of the journey that where important.
    I would ask Jenny Ellis more about her shadow techniques and also why she is so interested in puppetry.The place i like to read is on my bed in the night or on the car in the day 🙂 I do have many favourites, but my most favourite books are the Dear Dumb Diary books. What did you like most about ‘The Owls Apprentice’? by Jenny Ellis

  10. Isabelle

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I will ask hoot the owl where will he go and what will he bring on the why to the places.

    Hoot learnt about who he was.

    I would like to know how to make the puppets, how to be like you and why did you like to be like this.

    Where I would read is in my bedroom and when I would read would be at 8:30 or 7:45.

    See you tomorrow,
    Isabelle

  11. Anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    If I could ask the Hoot a question it would be what is your favorite sport and why?

    The Hoot learnt how to be wise because he went around to five animals and then he learnt how to be wise.

    If I could ask Jenny Ellis a questions it would be what is your favorite puppetry that you have done?

    I like to read at 7:00 pm on my bed because it is quiet and comfortable. I don’t really a favorite book right now.

    Sincerely Anthony

  12. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    The shadow act was a amazing and cute and funny as well if were to ask hoot something how did he change to a clumsy owl to a smart and helpful owl. Hoot learnt that he is helpful and thoughtful because he rescued his friend and teachers by the animal noises he came across on the way to the library and if i were to ask Jenny Ellis a question i would ask her is making those puppets hard and how she controls all the puppet at once with only two hands!!
    I sleep on my bed and or on the ground around after school time and before i sleep so at 8:30 as well.
    My favorite books are the hunger games because it is interesting to read and is mind blowing i also like the pretty little lairs series because it is a thriller and mystery book. What’s your favorite book?

    Bye,
    Josephine

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Josephine,

      WOW!! Sometimes i even lay on the floor to read a book too 🙂 I like those books too and they really make you want to find out what is next in the story. Why do you like those books?

      Sincerley,
      Jennifer.A

  13. David

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    Where I would read is in my bed at around 8:30 p.m. The funny thing is that I won’t stop reading until my dad calls me to stop reading because it is around 10:00 p.m.

    Sincerely,
    David

  14. Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5 White,

    I think book week was BRILIANT and I can’t wait until next year’s! I would ask Hoot, why did he leave his family in the story in the first place? Hoot learns that he should always be mindful of others and to never give up, I know this because one of the characters in the story tells Hoot to never give up and to keep on going, I would ask Jenny Ellis about what inspired her to become a shadow pupeteer, I like to read just before I turn in for the night in my bed, one of my favourite books is the Origami Yoda series because it always has comedy, excitement and struggles faced in middle school.

    Respectfully,
    Nathan

  15. Isabella.N

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved watching that show it was funny and very cute, one thing I would ask Hoot is why didn’t he know how to fly. One thing I would ask Jenny Ellis I what made her get in to puppetry. I think Hoot learned to believe in himself. I like to read in my bed at night half an hour before I go to sleep. Where do you like to sleep?

  16. Pingback: Five Green's Class Blog

  17. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Book Month was so Awesome !! I loved watching the puppet show and im pretty sure everyone else enjoyed it to. The puppeteer was a nice lady and she was funny, She said to us that making puppets is really easy and anyone could make them. It was so fun !

    King regards,
    Tony

  18. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Book Month was so Fascinating ! I really enjoyed watching the puppet show and I think the owl learnt a lesson. The lady was very creative and was very good at what she was doing and it looked like she enjoyed it to. Everyone who watched it was laughing and they also really liked it. I hope one day in my spare time I will make puppets for fun.

    Sincerly,
    Tony

  19. Alicia

    Dear: Five white and Miss.Azzopardi,

    I really enjoyed watching that book month show. The shadow puppets were cool and Jenny was very creative. I would ask Jenny how long it would take her to make those puppets and also the setting. The show was HOOTASTIC!!!

    Kind regards,
    Alicia

  20. Dear Miss Azzopardi and five white,

    I enjoyed book month it was epic!!! I loved watching the puppet show it was awesome!!!!! If I had to ask the owl one thing it would be what the owl’s favourite colour, I know that Hoot learnt that if you have your mind to something you can do it, If I ask Jenny Ellis one question it would be how did you do all that all by yourself, did you make every piece of the puppet show yourself, and was learning puppeteer easy or hard. My favourite book is Diary of a wimpy kid and Tom gates they are very nice and funny books, I love to read on my bean – bag at 6:00.

    Kind regards,
    Jennifer E

  21. Bella

    Dear Five White,

    I really love book month. If I could ask hoot a question, It would have to be how did you get the courage to carry on? I learnt that hoot learned that If he has the courage wisdom and joy he can do what ever he puts his little mind to. If I could ask Jenny Elis something I would have to ask how many amazing shows have you put on , like the one at our school. I like to read in my bed with music on and on the couch with the tv turned on but volume low.
    What’s your favourite place you like to read?

    Sincerely,
    Bella

Leave a Reply

