St Mary’s Cathedral and Mary MacKillop Place

On Wednesday 28th August, year five attended St Mary’s Cathedral and Mary MacKillop Place in order to compliment the learning about the Early Church in Australia.

Below are some interesting facts about St Mary’s Cathedral.

  • The Cathedral is dedicated to Mary Help of Christians.
  • St Mary’s Cathedral was built with a gothic structure and there are 200 heads in the building.
  • Two churches were destroyed in fires before the Cathedral was built.
  • There are two large statues of Mary Magdalene and Jesus inside the Cathedral.
  • There are many altars within the Cathedral.
  • Priests used to say Mass with their backs to the congregation (the people attending Mass).
  • There are beautiful stained glass windows that each depict a story.
  • There is a large organ inside.
  • It is made of sandstone which requires a lot of maintenance.
  • The crypt can be found underneath the Cathedral. The bishops are buried in the crypt.
  • Some people get married in the crypt.
  • The floor of the crypt is decorated with the creation story.

Click here fore more information about St Mary’s Cathedral. Click here for more information about Mary MacKillop Place. 

Take a look at the photos below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What did you enjoy about the excursion?

What did you learn about St Mary’s Cathedral and/or Mary MacKillop?

22 Comments

Filed under Excursion, Religion

22 responses to “St Mary’s Cathedral and Mary MacKillop Place

  1. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    What I enjoyed ay the excursion is that I learnt a lot of new facts and I got to to explore the Cathedral and see Mary Mackillops grave! I learnt that Mary Mackillop was burried at Gore Hill Cemetry but a few years later, they moved her grave at Mary Mackillop Place in North Sydney and Mary’s friend bought the marble for the grave.

    Yours Truly,
    Cecilia

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Cecilia,

      I also learnt a lot of new facts and loved how we explored St. Mary’s Cathedral and Mary Mackillop’s Place. Mary was very brave and is amazing, she is completely worthy of being a saint.

  2. Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    The excursion was really fun I really enjoyed Mary Mackillops place and going to Alma cottage because it was really nice getting to see when she grew up in. I learnt that St Mary’s Cathedral was built bit by bit because they couldn’t afford to build all in one and on the sides of the Cathedral there are sculptures of sains heads and because they couldn’t afford them to go all the way around they had to leave spaces. What interesting things did you hear or see about the Cathedral ?

    Hope to see you soon,
    Grace

    • Dear Grace,

      What I found interesting about the Cathedral, is that when ever the Church was built, It got set on fire. Until 2 churches were destroyed, A Cathedral named St Mary’s Cathedral was built.

      It’s nearly Holidays!
      Cecilia

  3. Jennifer.A

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    The excursion was so fun!! The thing I most enjoyed about our trip to St. Mary’s Cathedral and Mary Mackilop’s place was that I learnt so many wonderful things about Mary and saw so many amazing things at both places.
    Here are some facts:
    – Mary Mackillop was beatified 19 January, 1995.
    – She died 1909.
    – Canonized 17 October, 2010.
    – Mary was the oldest of eight kids.
    – Mary’s cathedral was built in the gothic way.
    The excursion was really fun and hoped everyone liked it too. What was your favourite part on the excursion?

    Sincerley,
    Jennifer.A

  4. Brenda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved the excursion to the cethdral in the City. It was really fun and I really enjoyed.Somehing that I enjoyed about the excursion was looking back to the past and seeing how Mary Mackillop lived and how she got excommunicted. I learned about Mary Mackillop is that she got excommunicated from the bishop because the bishop didn’t like Mary’s choice of what she done about the church. 2 weeks before the bishop died he changed his mind and said “Mary Macillop you are now allowed back in the holy church.

    Yours truly,
    Brenda

  5. james

    Dear Five White & Miss Azzopardi,

    The excursion was very awesome. During the excursion i got to travel in Mary Mackillop’s life to see how Mary Mackillop became Australia’s first saint.To me the excursion is like a journey through time and space to see Mary’s life. What i learnt from the excursioin is that ‘never see a need without doing something about it’.

    Sincerly,
    James

    • Jamie

      Dear James,

      Who wouldn’t think that the excursion was awesome. Your right it does feel like a journey to space learning about Mary Mackillop’s life.

      Sincerely,
      Jamie

  6. Theresa

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love the excursion it was so fun.I enjoyed the part where we went to St Mary place because I learnt so much about Mary Mackillop like she was the oldest of 8 kids, the cathedral is built in a gothic way.

    Kind regards,
    Theresa

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Theresa,

      I had so much fun too!! I really liked how the cathedral was made in a gothic way and how Mary is the oldest of 8 🙂

      Sincerely,
      Jennifer.A

  7. Andrea

    Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    Going to Saint Mary’s Cathedral was fun! I enjoyed going into the Church when the guide was giving Year 5 information about Saint Mary of the Cross MacKillop’s life and when we explored it. The guide taught us everything we discussed in class so he was revising the information we learnt.

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

  8. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    Visiting these places expanded my knowledge about Mary MacKillop and the Cathedral. What I enjoyed about it was that I got to hear some of Mary MacKillop’s sayings such as “Never see a need without doing something about it”. These kind of sayings push me to be a better person each day. I learnt that:
    -The style of the Cathedral is called ‘Gothic’, which is when everything is like an arch.
    – Some of her brothers and sisters died when they were only in their 20’s and 30’s.
    – Her brother Alick died at only 11 months.

    The excursion was a fantastic journey and I hope that you liked it too.
    Sincerely,
    Natalie

  9. Kong

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    What i enjoyed about the excursion is the interesting statues of the famous catholic people. They were really faithful!

    Sincerelym,
    Kong

    • Dear Kong,

      I absolutley agree with you! The statues were really interesting, but what I found interesting were the stained glass windows and how detailed they were!

      Most Kindly,
      Nathan

      • Kong

        Dear Nathan,

        Thanks for replying and i also agree with you too! the stained glass pained windows had interesting catholic people!

        Kind Regards,
        Kong

  10. Anthony

    Dear Five White and miss Azzopardi,

    I found the excursion interesting as I learnt about all the different things about Mary Mackillop including where she taught. What I learnt about Mary Mackillop was that she was excommunicated from the church and was let back in after a while.

    Sincerely
    Anthony

    • Kong

      Dear Anthony,

      I learnt a lot too! I know that she made a school with nuns for children to study in and she was inspired by Father Julian Woods.

      Kind Regards,
      Kong

  11. Isabella.N

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I LOVED going to st Mary’s Cathedral because it was very fun and very educational. What I enjoyed was the tour guide told us all about the cathedral and who made it. I also enjoyed going to st Mary
    Mackillop’s place. I learnt that the cathedral is Gothic style and that Mary Mackillop died in Alba Cottage and that she got excommunicated because she stood up to the Bishop. What did you learn on the excursion?

    Yours Truly,
    Isabella.N

  12. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I really enjoyed the excursion and Mrs Elchaar Got to meat Cardinal George Pell !! That was so epic and the church was the biggest and best church i have seen in my life. I still cant belive my mum and mrs Elchaar met His Eminence Cardinal George Pell. That was the best excursion ever !!

    King regards,
    Tony

  13. Hagen

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    I really enjoyed going to the excursion to St Mary’s Cathedral because it was great and it was the hugest church I have seen with my very own eyes. And I also can’t believe that the church was made out of sand and I also saw Mary’s tomb and her house at St Mary’s place.

    Sincerely,
    Hagen

  14. Dear Miss Azzopardi and five white,

    I loved the excursion!!!!!! What I enjoyed was the church and how big it was and beautiful. what I learnt about Mary Mackillop was she didn’t like her first job but she stayed to get the money for her family.

    Kind regards,
    Jennifer E

Leave a Reply

