Visual Art

In Visual Art, Five White have looked at John Olsen’s artwork. He is an Australian artist who was born in 1928. His shapes are very organic and often have lots of curvy lines flowing from them. Quite often his artworks are rich in vibrant tones of one colour. Inspired by John Olsen, Five White chose a base colour and mixed it with white and black paint to make six different tones. They then used the six different tones to paint their bikes.

Five White used organic lines and geometric lines.

  • Organic lines are types of lines that are found in nature. They are irregular, curved and often fluid.
  • Geometric lines have sharp or hard edges. True geometric lines are rarely found in nature but are often found in man made constructions.

Take a look at our artwork!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Can you provide examples of geometric and organic lines within the paintings?

What did you enjoy about creating your artwork?

Research John Olsen and leave comment providing interesting facts about him and a link to one of his artworks that you like and explain why you like it. 

21 Comments

Filed under Visual Art

21 responses to “Visual Art

  1. Anthony

    Dear five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    In art we had to draw and paint a bike. A geometric line is a line that is straight and a organic line is a line that is curvy and can’t be straight because nothing that God made was straight. What I enjoyed about creating the art work was that, I could learn how to mix up the colours with light and dark and now I know how to draw a bike.

    Sincerely
    Anthony

    • Tony

      Dear Anthony,

      Your Painting is so artistic and your painting is So So Good !!! Your bike has nice colours and the colours you mixed were so good. Your painting was better than mine and your a very good drawer.

      Sincerly,
      Tony

      • Kong

        Dear Tony,

        I agree with you! I was sitting next to Anthony and he was drawing great! But Tony, I what’s a drawer? You mean an artist?

        Yours Truly,
        Kong

  2. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    What I enjoyed about painting this artwork, is painting the background because you just do different tones of one colour lines and some of the artworks were really nice!

    Kind Regards,
    Cecilia

  3. Bella

    Dear Five White,

    I really enjoyed painting the bikes it was really fun. A geometric line would be a man made line so it would be a straight line, examples would be a book, a pencil case and a pencil. A organic line is a line that is not straight and not man made so it would be a curvy line. Examples would be a tree, leaves and vines. John Olson is an old painter that enjoys painting life like things. I enjoyed painting our picture because we got to use a range of different colours. Did you enjoy painting?

    Sincerely,
    Bella

    • Dear Bella,

      I really enjoyed painting because we got to have 6 different shades and it made it look like I had 6 different colours. My colours were baby pink, light pink, pink, light purple, purple and burgundy. I loved it because I really like having different colours in my paintings and drawings.

      Hope to see you soon,
      Grace

  4. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    Wow! The artworks that we did look incredible. John Olsen is an amazing artist that inspired me to be as creative as I can, and I’m sure that 5W was inspired by him too.

    Sincerely,
    Natalie

    • Dear Natalie,

      The artworks were truly AMAZING! I like it how John Olsens’ paintings only have one colour, but different tones of the colour.

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia

  5. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The Art Works looked fantastic on the wall !! Good Job Miss Azzopardi i think everyone did we all did well with making our paintings. The paintings were so creative and what i enjoyed about making my artwork was that it was Fun, Creative and we all did a good job. I really liked drawing the bike but i was pretty confused when painting. Good job Miss !

    Kind Regards,
    Tony

  6. Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    I really liked doing visual arts this term because we got to draw and paint a lot of fun things. An example of a geometric line on the bike would be the bars that holds the bike together. An example of a organic line in the bike would be the handles. What I enjoyed about making my bike was getting to make 6 different shades of the colour that we chose for our bikes. Here are some interesting facts about John Olsen
    – He likes to draw Plants, birds and animals in his artworks. Though when he started traveling he started to draw the natural world.
    – In most of his artworks he used watercolour.
    – he was inspired by gods creation.Who or What inspired you?

    Sincerely,
    Grace

    • Jamie

      Dear Grace,

      I loved your painting the most, I think it’s the best painting you created this year. Keep working and I’m sure you will be a famous artist one day.

      Kind regards,
      Jamie:p

  7. Jennifer.A

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I really enjoyed drawing the bikes and painting them!! The thing I enjoyed the most was painting the bikes because we were painting them in different shades and we could do it the way we wanted 🙂
    A geometric line means a straight line and an organic line means a curvy line or something not straight because NOTHING God made was straight.
    Organic lines in our paintings:
    – Seat
    – Handles
    – Tires
    Some things I researched about John Olsen are:
    – He was born on the 21st of January, 1928.
    – He is 85.
    – His middle name is Henry.
    – He is an amazing artist and inspires everyone.
    – John was born in Newcastle.
    My favourite picture was:
    https://www.google.com.au/search?q=john+olsenjohn+olsen+artworks&oe=UTF-8&hl=en&client=safari&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=QA44UtzaI66viQfXlIGwCg&biw=1024&bih=672&sei=RA44UoOXCIaXkgWziIBY#biv=i%7C64%3Bd%7CqwZtvgFgPR_7xM%3A
    I like this picture because it uses 2 main colours, blue and green and is very simple because it’s not really meant to be a picture it is just a beautiful mash of the 2 colours and looks really good 🙂

    Thanking you,
    Jennifer.A

  8. Phillip

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi

    I liked painting our art works it was fun and I painted
    my one green. We had to mix white with green a few
    times and then I mixed green with black and the colours
    were all green and light ones and dark ones but at the end
    it looked nice.

    Phillip

    • Tony

      Dear Phillip,

      Your painting is so awesome mate, I like your lines and your painting is so creative and artistic. I hope you liked your painting too because you did a fantastic job and good job. I really liked your Dark green because it stands out and it looks good on your painting.

      Tony

  9. Hi Year 5.

    Wow you guys are such great artist. What amazing paintings. I wish I could draw and paint like that. I also just learnt something new from you guys, as I have never heard of geometric and organic lines until I read your post.

    Keep up the awesome work.
    Sincerely Nat.

  10. Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    I know I’m not that good at painting but I am still inspired.

    Sincerely,
    David

    • Kong

      Dear David,

      I know that I’m not good at art too and i feel the same way as you do! I get inspired by artists and try to make a paintings or drawings but it looks so uncool.

      Yours Truly,
      Kong

  11. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The art works were so amazing !!! I really am looking forward till our next paintings and i hope we have evan more fun making them !! 🙂

    Yours Truly,
    Tony

Leave a Reply

