Dig For Your Life!

On the 15th and 16th of October, year five went to Belgenny Farm. Click here to learn more about Belgenny Farm. The students experienced what it would have been like to work on a farm before the gold rush. They checked the sheep and moved them across a bridge. They also experienced what they gold rush would have been like as they panned for gold by the river and dug for gold in the soil.

Year five worked together in their groups to pay for their license, tools and materials they would need to pitch a tent and find gold. They also made damper. Take a look at the photos below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Click here to take a look at a Weebly site Natalie created which contains useful information about gold. Well done, Natalie!

What did you enjoy about the excursion?

What have you found interesting while learning about the gold rush?

If you could interview a gold miner, what questions would you ask?

56 Comments

Filed under Excursion, H.S.I.E

56 responses to “Dig For Your Life!

  1. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The excursion was SUPER FUN! I enjoyed everything about the excursion because it feels so adventurous and real! What I found interesting about the excursion is that in 1850 or 1852’s the gold rush started, ( i think )…. 😛

    Yours Sincerely,
    Cecilia

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Cecilia,

      I also had an awesome time!!! The excursion was so fun and so adventurous 🙂 It was very interesting to know that the gold rush was found out in the 1950’s!

      Kind regards,
      Jennifer.A

      • Dear Jennifer A,

        I had so much fun to!!! and like you said it was very adventurous.
        I found it interesting that they only got a small amount of food everyday.

        Your Sincerely,
        Jennifer E

    • Natalie

      Dear Cecilia,
      I definitely agree with you!! It was absolutely fun to dig gold and lead the sheep (ewes) across the bridge. What I like the best was when we made our tent. It was so hard and I can’t imagine how the miners did it 😱!! I thought the way they panned for gold was interesting, because if you couldn’t find gold near the edge of the lake, then how would you get it? If I could interview a miner, I would ask:
      – Did you find that panning for gold was easier or shafting for gold?
      – How would gold change your life?
      – What is the reason why you chose to search for gold?
      – How would you survive under the scorching sun?
      – If you brought all the ingredients for damper and used all of it, how would you survive?
      – Who inspires you to continue digging for gold?
      – During the rebellion in the 1850’s, did you go to court and did you survive the fight?

      Also Cecilia, you are right about how the gold rush started in the 1850’s!😉😃

      Yours truly,
      Natalie

    • Jamie

      Dear Cecilia,

      Same here I loved every single bit of the excursion, I wish it could repeat all over again.

      Kind regards,
      Jamie:D

    • Amy

      Dear Cecilia,

      what was your favourite part my favourite part was making the tent to bad we didnt win but at least we got chocolate coins.

      Kind regards,

      Amy

  2. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    THE EXCURSION WAS SO FUN!!!!!!! ( and I’m not just saying that because there were more girls than boys, but also because we go to find gold in the lake and in the gold fields and it was the first time I was near a goat.)
    Some things I found interesting about the gold rush:
    – They found out about gold near the 1950’s.
    – When there was news, the messenger man would ring a bell so everyone could go to it and then he would tell the news.
    – Not everyone had luck in the gold fields.
    – You had to have a licence to dig/pan for gold.
    If i interviewed a miner I would ask:
    – How do you deal with times when you can’t find any gold?
    – What do you do with your gold?
    – If someone gave you a choice, a big bag of shinny, gigantic gold or 1,000,000 pounds, which would you choose?
    – Why do you even want gold?
    A question for you to answer:
    What was your favourite part of the excursion?
    How do you think the people that didn’t get much gold felt?

    Yours truly,
    Jennifer.A

    • Dear Jennifer,

      The excursion was AWESOME!!! I loved it how there was more girls than boys 😀 My favourite parts was riding the carage, panning and black smithing.

      Kind Regards,
      Cecilia

    • Grace

      Dear Jennifer A,

      My favourite part if the excursion was making the pegs and the tents though I really enjoyed riding on the tractor. I think the people that didn’t get any gold felt jealous and angry that they didn’t get anything while some other men got many nuggets. though I think some felt ok and just thought it’s fine because there always is a tomorrow and begetter luck next time.

      Talk to you later,
      Grace

    • angel

      Dear Jennifer,

      I also loved the excursion and yes because there was more girls than boys but also because we got to experience what the miners used to do back in the 1950’s. My favourite part was how we got to make the pegs as well as building our tents. I had an awesome time and I hope that we can experience more fun excursions like this one so that we will know what it used to be like on earth.

      Your Sincerely,
      Angel

    • Hi Jennifer,

      It was the first time you were near a goat? Hmm, I don’t remember any goats being there. I think you mean an animal beginning with ‘s’.

      Kind regards,
      Miss Azzopardi

      • Alicia

        Dear: Miss.Azzopardi,

        Do you mean the animal called a sheep. It was my first time going near and touching the sheep. It was really fun!

        Your sincerely,
        Alicia

      • Jennifer.A

        Dear Miss Azzopardi,

        I remember now : It was the first time i was near a sheep 😀 😀 😀

        Yours truly,
        Jennifer.A

  3. Theresa

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi
    The excursion was so fun!!!!.my best part is when we made the tents and when we were finding gold.I can’t believe that people would leave there jobs to look for gold.They can get money by working.

    • Dear Theresa,

      Oh Yeah!!! I forgot about making the tent! My group didn’t know what we were doing :O Building the tent was so FUN!

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia

    • Amy

      Dear Theresa,

      My Favourite part was also making the tents my tent was really hard to put up we had some help and almost lost a hook.how many gold did you find?

      Kind regards,
      Amy

    • Amanda

      Dear Theresa,

      That was a very fun excursion and I also enjoyed putting up the tent, I didn’t notice how hard it would be.

      Sincerely,
      Amanda

  4. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Belgenny Farm was the best excursion!!! It was so fun going with the other class and Our Tent was the first to be built up. When we went digging for Gold in the paddock and the Creek our group found lots and lots of Gold (Rocks) and we came second in the weighing thing. When we had to make the goats go across the bridge it was so funny because you couldn’t chase them and we accidentally drounded 4 or 5 sheep ( Imaginary ). Also one group that tried to heard the sheep failed that all the sheep separated into 2 groups :). What did you think about the excursion ?

    Kind Regards,
    Tony

    • Kong

      Dear Tony,

      I agree with you that the excursion was the best one so far! We had to set up many things before we could go panning, however in the creek i found tonnes of gold with David! Me and David was the first to find gold and then many people came to the spot! Tony i didn’t think about your group being second but still, we had lots of fun!

      Yours Truly,
      Kong

    • Alicia

      Dear: Tony,

      When I went to the excursion my class did not see any goats. It’s an animal that starts with a ‘s’. I wonder who can guess???

      Bye,
      Alicia

  5. Amy

    Dear Five White,

    My favourite part was when we made the tent and also making hooks it was really hard pumping thr fire and also soaking the hook in the water It almost fell in the water. The tent was very hard to set up but we were the first group to put our tent up. It was really fun.

    Kind regards,

    Amy

    • Grace

      Dear Amy,

      I got to say pumping the fire was really hard though I didn’t have to do it for long though my arms did hurt. I agree making the tent was pretty difficult though making with my friends really helped because we worked as a team and showed a lot of teamwork.

      Nice to talk to you,
      Grace

    • Dear Amy,

      Making the hooks was SUPER fun 🙂 I agree, pumping the air was really hard! Setting up the tent was also very hard 😛

      Yours Truly,
      Cecilia

  6. Kong

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    If I can interview a miner i would ask,
    *If you have no luck finding gold in many days would you stop?
    *Where would you go finding gold?
    *If you struck a tonne load of gold would you quit mining for gold?

    Sincerely,
    Kong

  7. Kevin

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    THE EXCURSION WAS THE BEST EXPERIENCE I EVER HAD! My favourite part of the excursion would be how you would be in groups and pay for your equipments. The tent was challenging at first but then it got easy. I liked the excursion because we were acting like in the 1850’s and we did all these things like building a tent, making dampers, melting metal, make sheeps across the bridge and lots more. Even though i went in the other class i knew it would be as good as the one in your class.

    Kind regards,
    Kevin

    • Dear Kevin,

      Hmm. I actually found paying for the equipment boring… I liked putting up the tent 🙂 Plus, I think Five White did a better job than Five Green!!!! (obviously because there was less boys,yay!)

      Yours Truly,
      Cecilia

  8. Grace

    Dear miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    I loved the Excursion to Belgenny farm it was really fun and I enjoyed everything. I found it interesting that people had to travel by horses and make their pegs for their tent with pieces of metal sticks.If could meet one of the miners I would ask him :
    Did you find it easier panning or digging for gold❓
    Did you ever see a big rock and thought it was a gold nugget❓
    What sicknesses did you get on the way❓
    Was searching for gold what you always wanted to do❓
    Though I guess it will be pretty rare to find one now but if do here are the questions.What were you most exited to do in the morning when you woke up❔

    Sincerely,
    Grace

    • Dear Grace,

      Those are REALLY good questions! I LOVED the excursion 🙂 It was really fun! What was your favourite part of the excursion?

      Kind Regards
      Cecilia

  9. Anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The excursion to Belgenny farm was so fun and was probably the best excursion ever at school! At the excursion we got to experience what it was like to be in the gold rush. If I could ask a miner a question it would be,how was it digging for gold, when there was so many people. Would you dig for Gold and leave work or stay and get paid double?

    Sincerely Anthony

    • Dear Anthony,

      I also liked the excursion. It was a great experience for students to know what it is like to be in the gold rush!

      Yours Truly,
      Cecilia

    • Kong

      Dear Anthony,

      I absolutely agree with you that the excursion to Belgenny Farm was so fun and the best one yet! The question you ask was a good one i think i will have trouble finding the answer to the question myself!

      Yours Truly,
      Kong

  10. Dear Miss Azzopardi and five white,

    I loved the excursion it was so interesting and fun!!!!! I found it interesting because people had no showers so if you got dirty you had to wait till there was water to get clean.
    The questions I would ask are:
    -What it hard to travel all the just to dig for gold?
    -How much gold did you find?
    -Where you left with money after the journey?

    Kind regards,
    Jennifer E

    • angel

      Dear Jennifer,

      I agree with you the excursion was very interesting and really fun. my favourite part of the excursion was when we got to make the pegs along with building our tent. What was your favourite part of the excursion?

      Your Sincerely,
      Angel

    • Dear Jennifer,

      What I found interesting about the gold rush, is that they need to pay for a licence to mine for gold each week. What did you like about the excursion?

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia

    • Dear Jennifer E,

      I know right the excursion was so fun!! I really want to know how the miners would feel not taking a shower in days or even months i bet they would be very smelly!

      Sincerely,
      Josephine

    • Grace

      Dear Jennifer E,

      The excursion was so interesting I have learnt so much about the Gold rush . Though I’m not so sure they got payed because if they found Gold that would be their payment.

      See you soon,
      Grace

    • Dear Jennifer,

      I agree the excursion was so fun, I loved it. It was really interesting. It seems like you’ve learn”t a lot. Very good questions.

      Kind regards,
      Bella

  11. Dear Five White,

    The excursion was so so fun! I enjoyed living the experience , buying tools and equipment. I have found interesting that there have bee so many gold finds and people still live off the money there relatives made in the gold rush. If I could interview a miner I would ask:
    – How long have you been out here?
    – How much gold have you found?
    – Any Luck?

    Sincerely,
    Bella

  12. Dear Miss Azzopardi and Five White,

    The excursion is the best it was very fun!! what i found interesting is that when you cross the line when you dig for gold you can go to jail or even get banned from digging!
    if i interviewed a farmer i will ask him/her:
    How did you feel mining with other people?
    Was it very hard to find big gold nuggets?
    Did you feel tired mining for gold ages?
    Would you leave your job or house just to mine for gold?

    Did you like the excursion?

    Kind regards,
    Josephine

    • Amy

      Dear Josephine,

      I did like the excursion it was the best excursion ever! My favourite part was when we made hooks, it was really hard pumping the fire and smoke was everywhere.what was your favourite part?

      Kind regards,
      Amy

    • Cecilia

      Dear Josephine,

      I really LOVED the excursion! What was your favourite part at Belgenny Farm?

      Cya!
      Cecilia

    • Grace

      Dear Josephine,

      The excursion was so much fun. I also found it pretty interesting that you could go to jail or get banned from digging as well though I found it pretty harsh because some people might’ve crossed the line by accident.The questions that you have are very great.

      Talk to you later,
      Grace

  13. Brenda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,
    I loved the excursion. It was really fun. My favourite part of the excursion was when we went panning in the river to find little small specks of gold. it was fun. I learnt that the gold rush started in 1850 and I learnt that if you find gold you can sell it and get lots of thousands of dollars. If I spoke to a miner I would ask these questions:
    How much gold did you find when you dug for your life?
    When you sold your gold how much did you sell it for?
    How much times did you dig?

    Kind Regards,
    Brenda

  14. Andrea

    Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved going to the farm. It was so fun! I loved how we put up our tent and had to buy some materials. When I found out that 10 year olds work on the farm I was so interested to find out how it felt like to work on the farm. If I can interview a miner I would ask them how it feels like to search for gold.

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

    • Theresa

      Dear Andrea,
      I love going to the farm to.I like siting in the tents but no building them.I didn’t know that 10 year old can work on the farm.

      Kind regards,
      Theresa

    • Jamie

      Dear Andrea,

      I loved going to the farm too, and digging for gold. I agree I would ask them the same question too!!!

      Kind regards,
      Jamie😄😜😃

  15. Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5 White,

    Our excursion was THE BEST, SUPER AWESOME, MEGA EPIC and so EXCITING! What I enjoyed about the excursion is that we had to plan, form an alliance, hammer a peg, make damper, set up a tent and find gold without help! It was simulating real life in the goldfields, panning was exciting and digging was fun too! What I learnt is that most people had to form an alliance so that they could split their money to spend on essentials!

    Most Kindly,
    Nathan

    • Jamie

      Dear Nathan,

      Same here I loved all of those things. Hopefully one day we can do it with out families and teach them how to put a tent and make damper.

      Kind regards,
      Jamie

  16. Pingback: Five Green's Class Blog

  17. Dear Nathan,

    I agree our excursion was awesome! Really fun too. I know it was so fun setting up tents, panning and digging for gold we learn so many new facts. I really enjoyed making damper, it tasted great. I learnt that people had to use sails on ships to make their tents! What else did you learn?

    Sincerely,
    Bella

  18. Theresa

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,,
    I love the excursion it was so much fun.I had a great time going, now I know how the people felt looking for gold.

    Kind regards,
    Theresa

    • Jamie

      Dear Theresa,

      The excursion was super fun!!!!! I had a great time too, it was really hot and hard to work in the heat right.

      Kind regards,
      Jamie:)

  19. Hagen

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved going to the excursion and I thought that our team was going to win but we came second. I enjoyed rounding up the sheep and making them cross the imaginary bridge.

    Kind regards,
    Hagen

  20. simone

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I really loved the farm and really enjoyed it and I really liked when we were making the sheep go through the bridge and I love the bit when we looked in the sheep skin to see if it was pink.

    kind regards,
    simone

Leave a Reply

