QR Codes

QR codes are becoming very popular and they are already very popular in countries such as Japan. QR code stands for ‘quick response code’ and they can provide us with information really quickly. They are being used for marketing, advertising and customer service as well as part of learning in classrooms.

Click here to visit our school blog and watch a video created by members of the ICT club explaining how to create your own QR code.

Take a look at the YouTube clip below explaining what a QR code is and why they are important. Watch the clip with your parents and your siblings.

Take a look at the new video stamp you can purchase at the post office.

Where have you seen a QR code and when you scan it, where does it take you? 

Challenge: look for QR codes around your house and at the shops! Scan them using a QR code reader and take a photo of them! Email your photos to Miss Azzopardi with a short explanation of where the QR code takes you. They will then be added to this blog post.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

26 Comments

Filed under ICT Tools

26 responses to “QR Codes

  1. Alicia

    Dear five white and Miss.Azzopardi,

    The ICT club is such a good idea. So far I enjoyed learning about QR codes and how to make a QR code. I wonder what we will do this week. This is exciting. The ICT club gets better each week.

    Kind regards,
    Alicia

    • Dear Alicia,

      I agree the ICT club is a really good idea! The ICT club is a really fun club, we get to teach alot of people about the internet.

      Sincerely,
      Bella

  2. Amy

    Dear Five white and Miss Azzopardi,

    There are many qr codes everywhere.I have seen qr codes on bottles,boxes and many more.

    Kind regards,
    Amy

  3. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopadi,

    I never knew QR codes were on weet bix boxes, hair products and much more because I haven’t noticed them. If QR codes are very popular in japan what would they put them on ? If QR codes give you quick information what if the information is wrong and the person at the counter gives you wrong information ?

    Yours truly,
    Tony

  4. Grace

    Dear miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    QR codes are extremely amazing because they are are just little pictures which are on all items that you can by in the shops. They are very modern and are geeT for some items that you want to learn more about. Ip have many things at home which I could make another comment about.

    See you soon,
    Grace

    • Jamie

      Dear Grace,

      QR codes are amazing!!!!!!!! I think u should post another comment up. I want to see all the cool QR codes you’ve got.

      Kind regards,
      Jamie:)

  5. Theresa

    Dear Five white and Miss Azzopardi,
    I seen QR code every where such as on coke bottles,cereal boxes and bottle.

    Kind regards,
    Theresa

  6. Natalie

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    With the clip above I was able to learn why we have QR codes. We have then so that shop keepers and others that scan our items at a store easily instead of having to look through a large book of all the items. Also to me, QR codes has made a life a little more exciting because you never know what information it contains. What do you think about QR codes?

    Sincerely,
    Natalie

  7. Jamie

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I have a lot of QR codes. It’s really fun scanning them!!!!! When I scan a QR code it takes me to the actuall website where there’s the information about a thing or a place.

    Kind regards,
    Jamie 🙂

  8. Bella

    Dear Five White,

    QR codes are so cool, there tiny little pictures that you scan and it can take you to a website and explain to you about the product, price and persuade to buy it. QR codes are there to persuade you to buy the product also to inform you about the product and sometimes entertain you about the product( which might be a child’s toy) so using PIE persuade, inform and entertain. QR codes are very interesting as you might never know how they work so fast to take you to a text or certain website. There many different ways to use QR codes. For instance it can lead you to a website, to a text and even you can put in a card and they can scan using the special on their phones, iPads or iPods and you can write what you want. Do you know anything about QR codes?

    Kind regards,
    Bella

  9. Natalie

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    WOW! The video above I found out that QR codes add a little spice in our lives. You can find QR codes anywhere such as beauty products, cereals, drinks such as coca cola and many more. Do you have anything in your house that has a QR code?

    Sincerely,
    Natalie

    • Dear Natalie,

      At my house I found one on a Mount Franklin Water Bottle and another one on a Garnier face cream.

      Kind Regards,
      Cecilia

    • Dear Natalie,

      I agree the video above explains so much, it’s such a good way to send a package to a friend or loved one. Yes, you can find Qr codes anyway, I even found one on the tag of my shirt.

      Sincerely,
      Bella

  10. Kong

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The packets of food at my house have QR codes and my mothers make up cream! At the groceries too, where the QR codes are for the cashier to scan. My mother once told me to scan a QR code for a coke bottle and it directly took me to the website saying sorry better luck next time for the prize.

    Kind Regards,
    Kong

    • Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

      You must have found a LOT of QR code, I have also found QR codes on televisions, posters and McDonalds cups. Maybe you will have better luck next time on wining that prize!

      Sincerely,
      Nathan

  11. Kevin

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I haven’t been seeing QR codes for a while, but just yesterday i found a code on my weet-bix box, coke bottle and my mums make up products.
    When i scan them they bring me to their website and they tell us if you won a prize or not.

    Sincerely,
    Kevin

    • Kong

      Dear Kevin,

      Looks like that we are kind of similar i found QR codes on my packet of food and my mums make up products too!

      Yours Truly,
      Kong

  12. anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I never new QR codes could be scanned on so many items. QR codes are very useful for learning as we can scan QR codes to find information and websites. I have seen QR codes mainly on cereal boxes and soft drink bottles. Where have you seen QR codes?

    Sincerely Anthony

  13. Brenda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I really think QR codes are really good this generation because instead of just having to write a link in the internet you can just scan the code and it goes straight to the website. Some QR codes I found on my products are
    Wet bix
    Coke bottle
    Mums medicine
    And On our school blog.
    It takes you straight to their website.

    Sincerely,
    Brenda

  14. Hagen

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I think that making QR codes are really fun and there are so many of them in the shops. At my home, I had no QR codes.

    Kind regards,
    Hagen

  15. David

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    QR codes are very convenient but they become inconvenient when you don’t have a QR code reader. I didn’t find any QR codes in my house.

    Sincerely,
    David

  16. Tonyyy

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I never knew that QR Codes were on Lemonade Bottle and etc because i havent really noticed them that much. QR Codes are fascinating and can give you alot of helpful Information.

    Sincerly,
    Tony

Leave a Reply

