Riddles and Puzzles

This is a guest post written by Nathan.

5 White have been discussing riddles and puzzles in the past few weeks. Riddles are questions which require genius skills! Puzzles can come in the form of a toy or problem which require clever thinking to be solved.

Click herehere and here in order to put your thinking caps on and solve some puzzles!

Layton

What did you think of the puzzles?

If you have a riddle, place it in a comment below for other students to try and solve. 

124 Comments

Filed under Guest Posts

124 responses to “Riddles and Puzzles

  1. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Great Post, Nathan! I think this is a great idea for student to improve their listening,reading and solving skills.

    Yours Sincerely,
    Cecilia

  2. David

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    The puzzles were really hard. I found that all of answers for the one puzzle weren’t right and you have to do something.

    Sincerely,
    David

  3. Hagen

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I think that the puzzle was really hard and I had do trial and error. But the first puzzle I thought was the hardest.

    Kind regards.
    Hagen

  4. Moufid

    Dear five white and miss Azzopardi

    Here is a riddle I have been very fond of because I have made it myself

    A man put a twenty thousand dollar bill on his desk and left, when he came back it wasn’t there, only two people could have seen it: the gardener or the cook, when he asked the cook she said that she saw it and put under the book on his desk, when he checked where the cook said she left it, it wasn’t there, so he went outside and asked the gardener, he said that he saw where the cook had left it and he put it inside the book, he even wrote the page he put between so he could remember: page 45-46
    After talking to the gardener and the cook he knew right away who the thief was, and he knew the only way to put this right was to call the police.

    Who was the thief and how did know?

    If you know who the thief was that’s only half the answer because you have to figure out how he knew.

    Sincerely,
    Moufid

    • Dear Moufid,

      WOAH!!! That is REALLY confusing! I have no idea what the answer is… Cool, Did you really make that riddle by yourself?

      Yours Truly,
      Cecilia

    • Kong

      Dear Moufid,

      That is an excellent riddle! I don’t really know the answer but great job!

      Yours Truly,
      Kong

    • David

      Dear Moufid,

      Is the answer to your riddle the police? Because it said ‘the only way to put this right was to call the police.’ But thats only half your answer because you have to figure out how he knew.

      Sincerely,
      David

      • Moufid

        Dear David

        That is incorrect because the the man who lost the bill called the police so they can arrest the he, she, or it

        Sincerely,
        Moufid

  5. Kevin

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The riddles above are really great! The riddles i found was hard but it was very interesting. The riddle i found: A cowboy was going to a town on friday, he stayed there for 3 days and left on friday. How did he do it?

    Yours truly,
    Kevin

    • Dear Kevin,

      I found the puzzles hard as well!
      Your riddle is hard but is the cowboy’s name Friday or is the horse name Friday i’m not sure but i’ve heard this riddle before!

      Sincerely,
      Josephine

    • David

      Dear Kevin,

      You see he left ‘ON FRIDAY’ and maybe Friday is the name of a horse or whatever the coyboy uses for transport. I knew this riddle like Josephine but I’m pretty sure that the cowboy did it by going on the horse: Friday.

      Sincerely,
      David

    • Alicia

      Dear Kevin,

      The answer to the riddle is…
      The cowboys horses name is Friday. Can any one figure this riddle?
      The lady borrowed a book and paid for it. After she bought it she left it on the counter and left without the book. WHY???

      Bye,
      Alicia

      • Dear Alicia,

        I think the answer for your riddle is that the lady had an overdue book and she had to bring it back to the library she payed the fee and returned the book. Can you figure this riddle out what is green, but doesn’t have the colour green in it.

        Sincerely,
        Bella

    • Anthony

      Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

      Over the past week we have been sharing riddles to the class. I am going to share some riddles with you.

      Riddle one: What has a face and two hands but no arms or legs?

      Riddle two: What has four fingers and one thumb but is not alive?

      Riddle three: What do you own but is used more by others?

      What riddles do you know?

      Sincerely Anthony

    • Dear Kevin,

      The riddles were fun and challenging! The answer to your riddle is he left on his horse named friday.

      Sincerely,
      Bella

  6. jennifer E

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and five white,

    I played The Tiled Box games I thought the game was fun and creative because you thought you had the right puzzle but you didn’t, It was hard but I enjoyed it.
    My Riddle:
    What has a foot but no legs?
    A:*****

  7. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Wow those puzzles were tough I played it and couldn’t pass it because it is too hard but I eventually passed it.
    I searched up riddles and I found this one:
    If you look you cannot see me and if you see me you cannot see anything else. I can make anything you want happen but later everything goes back to normal what am I?
    Isn’t that hard?

    Kind regards,
    Josephine

  8. Theresa

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,
    Those were hard. My riddle is what has four wheels and fly.
    Kind regards,
    Theresa

    • Dear Theresa,

      your riddle is hard!
      Is it garbage truck?

      Sincerely,
      Josephine

    • David

      Dear Theresa,

      I remember it but I think it was supposed to be like this:
      What has four wheels and flies.
      And the answer is a garbage truck because it has four wheels and flies, (you know the animal “flies”).

      Sincerely,
      David

  9. Jennifer.A

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    The games were really fun and you really had to concentrate to figure it out 😀
    A king has no sons, no daughters, and no queen. For this reason he must decide who will take the thrown after he dies. To do this he decides that he will give all of the children of the kingdom a single seed. Whichever child has the largest, most beautiful plant will earn the thrown; this being a metaphor for the kingdom.

    At the end of the contest all of the children came to the palace with their enormous and beautiful plants in hand. After he looks at all of the children’s pots, he finally decides that the little girl with an empty pot will be the next Queen.
    Why did he choose this little girl over all of the other children with their beautiful plants?
    Answer: The king gave them all fake seeds and the little girl was the only honest child who didn’t switch seeds.

    Sincerley,
    Jennifer.A

  10. Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5 White,

    I thought that the puzzles were AMAZING, to help you choose which puzzle to solve I have a guide: 1st Here is hardest, 2nd Here is easiest and 3rd Here is medium. And now for my riddle:

    You throw away the outside and cook the inside. Then you eat the outside and throw away the inside. What did you eat?

    Most Sincerely,
    Nathan

    • David

      Dear Nathan,

      I think the answer to your riddle is corn. Because you have to take that wrapping or whatever you call it and then cook the corn then you eat the small bits of yellow corn and you chuck out the thick stick, I know this may sound confusing but try it with real corn. If you’re willing.

      Sincerely,
      David

    • Kong

      Dear Nathan,

      Just like David i also i think your answer is corn because you peel the wrapping then you eat the yellow bits and throw the seed stick.

      Here is my riddle if you can solve it!

      There are 4 prison cells. Prisoner A is completely locked up can’t be seen.
      Prisoner B and C can see each other. D can see C but C can’t see D. They all have hats on. 2 black, 2 white. The warden then said if who knows who has each hat they will be released.

      Who will know and how?

      Yours Truly,
      Kong

      • David

        Dear Kong,

        Gee! This is very hard but C and B will know eachother’s hats but D can’t be seen by C so therefore D and A will be the mystery ones.

        Sincerely,
        David

  11. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,
    WOW!!! I am SUPER IMPRESSED with all the riddles that have said! Well, this is mine:
    – A hundred arms, a thousand fingers, but it has no eyes to see where it lingers. What is it?

    -What demands an answer, but asks no question?

    – When set loose I fly away, never so cursed as when I go astray. What am I?
    – How can you make the following equation correct without changing it: 8 + 8 = 91

    – When it is hit, its color will change.
    What it covers is complex and how it stretches is strange. What am I?

    Good luck!,
    Natalie

    • Alicia

      Dear Natalie,

      I am also impressed with all the riddles that has been said out loud to the class. WOW. Natalie your riddles are really hard I can’t even figure it out.

      Kind Regards,
      Alicia

    • David

      Dear Natalie,

      These might be the answers to your riddles:

      1st riddle: Tree
      2nd riddle: Phone
      3rd riddle: Kite
      4th riddle: I don’t know about this but I accidently flipped my laptop and I saw 16=8+8.
      5th riddle: Maybe a chameleon because it can change the colour of its skin.

      Sincerely,
      David

      • Dear David,
        You are really good at riddles! But I can tell you that you didn’t get two if them right. I won’t tell you which ones are wrong just because I would like you to find it out yourself! =D

        Kind regards,
        Natalie

      • Dear David,

        That was really clever! I would have never flipped my computer ǝpısdn uʍop. You must have a really clever brain!!!!

        Sincerely,
        Nathan

    • David

      Dear Natalie,

      I’ve thought about it again. These might be the answers:
      1.Tree
      2.Phone
      3.The never so cursed as when I go astray doesn’t make sense but I think that when something is set loose people hate it so I’m saying a fart or burp or something annoying.
      4.16=8+8.
      5.Your skin, because when you punch yourself there is red and you can stretch your skin.

      Sincerely,
      David

      • Dear David,
        You thought really hard about these riddles!!! You have got them all correct!! Number 3 was fart because it flys out and into the air.

        Kind regards,
        Natalie

      • Dear David,
        Can you work these out?
        1. What gets wetter and wetter, the more it dries?
        2. What can go up and down the stairs without moving?
        3. You throw away the outside and cook the inside. Then you eat the outside and throw away the inside. What did you eat?
        4. What can you catch but not throw?
        5. What’s black and white and red all over?
        6. The man who invented it doesn’t want it. The man who bought it doesn’t need it. The man who needs it doesn’t know it. What is it?

        Kind regards,
        Natalie

      • David

        Dear Natalie,

        1. Towel because I have heard it before.
        2.Carpet or stairsteps because I have heard it before.
        3.Corn or chicken because I have answered corn in Nathan’s riddle and he told me it is corn or chicken.
        4.A cold because you can get one by “catching” it. (It would be funny to throw one).
        5. Newspaper, this riddle is best to be said not written because the “red” part is meant to be “read”. So it goes like this: What is black and white and read all over.
        6.I don’t know this one but it says “the man who needs it doesn’t know it” and I’ve learnt you don’t know something by forgetting it or not listening or death. So I’m saying a coffin or whatever that someone has to buy and someone that has to invent and give to a person who needs it after he dies.

        Sincerely,
        David

  12. Isabella.N

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Here’s my riddle:

    Take away my first letter and I will sound the same, take away my last letter and I will still sound the same even take away my last letter and I will still sound the same. I am a five letter word. What am I?

    Sincerely,
    Isabella.N

  13. Kong

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    The puzzles were fun but a bit hard! I have this riddle here :
    There were 19 monks and 1 priest. They were all very sincere to their religion. Out of them how many left and why?

    I am two words. My first and second words are used in the old times. My first word is a word saying “OH YES!!” My second word has a word in it and a word that sounds like aid. What is my two words?

    Kind Regards,
    Kong

    • David

      Dear Kong,

      The first riddle answer is the priest because he is in the wrong place, he is meant to be in a church not a monastery.

      Sincerely,
      David

    • David

      Dear Kong,

      I do not know the two word one but it sounds pretty hard to answer, I guess this is one of your Chinese riddles again.

      Sincerely,
      David

  14. David

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    I am impressed with the puzzles for the Professor Layton riddles, I almost figured out the tiled box but my mind messed up.

    Sincerely,
    David

  15. Hagen

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I think that the only puzzle that is the hardest so far is the net of the cube and when I pressed the hints, it doesn’t even make any sense!

    Sincerely,
    Hagen

  16. Theresa

    Dear fine white and Miss Azzopardi,
    Those riddles where hard.Here my riddle I like swimming but I don’t like water,I like reading but I don’t like books,I like running but I don’t like to run.Why do I like these things?

    Kind regards,
    Theresa

  17. Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    I love riddles they are really fun and you could spend all day just thinking of the answer well here’s one of mine:

    I have no body, ears, mouth, nose or hair but I can speak What am I?

    Have fun trying to find out what it is,
    Grace

  18. Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Woah, The puzzles were REALLY hard!!! Here is some riddles ( P.S don’t copy and paste the riddle into google to find the answer!!! ) :

    1.What has only two words, but thousands of letters?

    2. What invention lets you look right through a wall?

    3.What has four legs, but can’t walk?

    Sincerely,
    Cecilia

    • David

      Dear Cecilia,

      I think the answer to riddle 2 and 3 is:
      2.Windows
      3.Table, but a table doesn’t have to have 4 legs.

      • Dear David,

        Nice Try! You kind of got it right. The answer is:

        1. Post Office
        2. Window
        3. Table

        ( a table does have 4 legs, not human legs 😀 )

        See if you can figure this out!

        A criminal is brought into a prison for major crimes. The warden informs him that he will be shot in the middle of the prison by 20 of his men. The prisoner is fine with that but he asks for some conditions “All of your men must stand 20 feet away from me and I must be able to select where each of them stands. If I survive, I get to leave.”

        The warden thinks about it and knows that all of his men will still have an open shot at the criminal, so he agrees.

        The next day immediately after the firing squad is positioned the criminal walks out untouched. How did he do it?

        Sincerely,
        Cecilia

    • David

      Dear Cecilia,

      I’ve thought about it again and are these your answers?

      1.Post Office.
      2.Window.
      3.Table.

      Sincerely.
      David

      • David

        Dear Cecilia,

        I think the answer to your riddle is that the man didn’t actually mention the word “shoot” so he is left away untouched.

        Sincerely,
        David

  19. Dear 5W & Miss Azzopardi,

    The puzzles were fun. A bit of it was hard, but I finally did it! My riddle for you is:
    What starts with p ends with e and has more than 1000 letters?

    It”s a very hard riddle but I”m sure someone will get it. I hope I can share it with the class 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

  20. Theresa

    Dear Five white and Miss Azzopardi
    My riddle is , In a one-story pink house, there was a pink person, a pink cat, a pink fish, a pink computer, a pink chair, a pink table, a pink telephone, a pink shower– everything was pink!
    What colour were the stairs?
    Kind regards,
    Theresa

  21. David

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    I am so far very impressed and I have tried to answer every single riddle said out by students. So here’s one of mine:

    You are 2nd in command of a ship, you have a crew of 100 humans that need oxygen to survive. You also have 100 aliens that are frozen and they do not need oxygen. The aliens are hidden in missiles that belong to another captain.

    And that captain is in a ship right next to yours with full control of your ship. He also has your captain onboard the alien captain’s ship. The alien captain’s ship is easy to destroy but has advanced powerful weaponry which will obliterate your ship and everyone in it in one hit. The alien captain DOES NOT WANT TO KILL HIS ALIENS.

    So here’s the logic:

    Firstly. the alien captain will kill your captain if you do not give back his aliens.
    Secondly, he can take out the oxygen needed for humans to survive and board your ship to retrieve his crew.
    Thirdly, the alien captain can teleport the missiles where the aliens of his are in.
    Fourthly, if you want to attack the alien ship you cannot because the alien captain has full control of your ship and he can deactivate the firing systems.
    Lastly, if you let him teleport the missiles he will probably destroy you.

    Hint: If you know the art of war you will know this.

    Sincerely,
    David

  22. David

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    The riddle I made was just a sample for you to think. This is the full version of the riddle:

    You are 2nd in command of a ship, you have a crew of 100 humans that need oxygen to survive. You also have 100 aliens that are frozen and they do not need oxygen. The aliens are hidden in missiles that belong to another captain.

    And that captain is in a ship right next to yours with full control of your ship. He also has your captain onboard the alien captain’s ship. The alien captain’s ship is easy to destroy but has advanced powerful weaponry which will obliterate your ship and everyone in it in one hit. The alien captain DOES NOT WANT TO KILL HIS ALIENS. He also wants his aliens and HE WILL DO ANYTHING TO GET HIS ALIENS BACK. So how are you going to destroy the alien captain and not lose any of your crew?

    So here’s the logic:

    Firstly. the alien captain will kill your captain if you do not give back his aliens.
    Secondly, he can take out the oxygen needed for humans to survive and board your ship to retrieve his crew.
    Thirdly, the alien captain can teleport the missiles where the aliens of his are in.
    Fourthly, if you want to attack the alien ship you cannot because the alien captain has full control of your ship and he can deactivate the firing systems.
    Lastly, if you let him teleport the missiles he will probably destroy you.

    Hint: If you know the Art of War you will know what to do.

    Sincerely,
    David

  23. David

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    Sorry I forgot to edit this so this is the real riddle.

    You are 2nd in command of a ship, you have a crew of 100 humans that need oxygen to survive. You also have 100 aliens that are frozen and they do not need oxygen. The aliens are hidden in missiles that belong to another captain.

    And that captain is in a ship right next to yours with full control of your ship. He also has your captain onboard his ship. The alien captain’s ship is easy to destroy but has advanced powerful weaponry which will obliterate your ship and everyone in it in one hit. The alien captain DOES NOT WANT TO KILL HIS ALIENS. He also wants his aliens and HE WILL DO ANYTHING TO GET HIS ALIENS BACK. So how are you going to destroy the alien captain and not lose any of your crew?

    So here’s the logic:

    Firstly, the alien captain will kill your captain if you do not give back his aliens.
    Secondly, he can take out the oxygen needed for humans to survive and board your ship to retrieve his crew.
    Thirdly, the alien captain can teleport the missiles where the aliens of his are in.
    Fourthly, if you want to attack the alien ship you cannot because the alien captain has full control of your ship and he can deactivate the firing systems.
    Lastly, if you let him teleport the missiles, the alien captain will teleport your captain back he will probably destroy your ship.

    Hint: If you know the Art of War you will know what to do.
    Super Hint: Use what he wants against the alien captain.

  24. Hagen

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I like to share you the riddles I found:

    Riddle 1: What do you call a train stack with chewing gum?

    Riddle 2: What band doesn’t play a tune?

    Riddle 3: What has an eye but can’t see?

    Riddle 4: What has two arms but cannot hug?

    Riddle 5: What has a bed but does not sleeps on it?

    Riddle 6: Where does cows go to have fun?

    Riddle 7: What has teeth but does not bite?
    Answer any of this riddles.

    Kind regards,
    Hagen

    • David

      Dear Hagen,

      These might be the answers to your riddles.

      1.Chew Chew
      2.Rubber Band
      3.Needle
      4.Armchair
      5.River
      6.Moovies – Geddit?
      7.A saw because it has teeth but it doesn’t bite.

      Sincerely,
      David

  25. Tony

    I DONT WANT TO GO TO YEAR 6 BECAUSE MISS AZZOPARDI IS THE BEST TEACHER IN THE WORLD ! 😦

  26. Tony

    ALSO THE YEAR HAS GONE TOO FAST AND I WISH I HAD ANOTHER YEAR IN YEAR 5 WITH MISS AZZOPARDI !!!!!! 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 BEST TEACHER IN THE WORLD = MISS AZZOPARDI ! 🙂

    • Kevin

      I KNOW RIGHT!!!!!! I CAN’T BELIEVE THAT THIS YEAR IS GOING SO FAST! IT FEELS LIKE ITS ONLY BEEN 1 TERM BUT ITS NEARLY THE END OF THE YEAR! MISS AZOPARDI HAS BEEN FUNNY, KIND, NICE, GREAT TEACHER AND IS THE BEST TEACHER I HAD EVER IN MY LIDE

      • Tony

        ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS THAT MISS AZZOPARDI IS THE BEST TEACHER IN THE WORLD AND SHE IS SO SO FUNNY AND NO ONE CAN TAKE THAT AWAY FROM HER. ALSO I WISH I COULD HAVE HER THE REST OF MY SCHOOL LIFE EVAN MY HIGH SCHOOL !!!!

        😦

  27. amanda

    Dear 5 White & Miss Azzopardi,

    This is my riddle:
    I fly without wings and cry without eyes.
    What am I?

    Kind Regards,
    Amanda

  28. Theresa

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,
    My riddle is what is at the end of a rainbow?
    Kind regards,
    Theresa

  29. David

    Dear Theresa,

    This might be the answer to your riddle: the letter w.

    Sincerely,
    David

    • Tony

      Dear David,

      1.
      You have two coconuts and you want to find out how high they can be dropped from a 100 story building before they break. But you only have $1.50 and the elevator costs a dime each time you ride it.

      How can you drop the coconuts to guarantee you will find the lowest floor they will break at, while starting and ending at floor 1?

      2.
      If it’s information you seek, come and see me.
      If it’s pairs of letters you need, I have consecutively three.

      Who am I?

      Sincerely,
      Tonyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

      • David

        Dear Tony,

        Riddle 1 is pretty hard but I guess it is got to do something with logic like my riddle.
        Riddle number 2 is a bookkeeper.

        Sincerely,
        David

  30. David

    Dear Five White and Ms Azzopardi,

    Here’s a puzzle:

    Do you make a
    a good eye witness?

    Can you spot the mistake?

    Sincerely,
    David

  31. Dear Miss Azzopardi and Five White.

    This should be an easy riddle, rearrange the numbers to make the equation correct:
    12345+=
    P.S
    It’s not as easy as it looks

    Sincerely,
    Nathan

    • David

      Dear Nathan,

      I am pretty sure there is supposed to be another + sign. And I think this is the answer to your riddle:

      3+4+5=12

      Sincerely,
      David

  32. Kevin

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,

    I love riddles especially when they are funny! The riddles 5w have are brilliant and they are also funny.

    Kind regards,
    Kevin

  33. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Riddle:
    1.What belongs to you but others use it more than you do?
    Another Riddle:
    2.Before man discovered Mt. Everest, what was the tallest mountain in the world?
    Last Riddle:
    3.When I am released to the wind,you look away and you pretend,but away your friends I will send. What am I ?
    Hope you can answer !!!

    Sincerly.
    Tony

  34. David

    Dear Tony,

    These are the answers to your riddles:
    1.Your name.
    2.Mt. Everest.
    3.A fart

    SIncerely,
    David

    • Tony

      Dear David,

      Great job mate. How did you know that the answers where those ? Your so smart !!

      Yours Truly,
      Tony

      • David

        Dear Tony,

        Oh I just know them but number 2 was just easy. Before man discovered Mt Everest what was the tallest mountain in the world? Still Mt Everest!

        Sincerely,
        David

  35. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    1. I am a big threat to humanity, but you wouldn’t get rid of me even if you could.
    What am i ?
    2. In what year did Christmas and New Year’s fall on the same year?

    3. Why did the hamburger go to the gym?

    4. You put me in hard.But then I become soft.Blow me hard and I will get bigger.
    What am i ?
    5. Drop me and the world will shatter,and you can always find me where you empty your bladder.
    What am i ?
    Can you answer these ?

    • Cecilia

      Dear Tony,

      Cool Riddles! Are the answers:

      1.Humanity.
      2.Every Year
      3.Gum
      4. A mirror

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia

      • Tony

        Dear Cecilia,

        Great Job !! I Dont know how everyone is answering my riddles because I have been trying to make them hard but it seems David and You know nearly every Riddle in the Book. Hope you can answer some more riddles I will put soon !!

        Sincerely,
        Tony

  36. David

    Dear Tony,

    These are the answers to your riddles:
    1. Humanity
    2. Um… the same year I think because New year is at the start of a year and Christmas is at the end.
    3.Because he wanted to get a better bun – Geddit?
    4. Bubble gum.
    5. Mirror.

    Sincerely,
    David

  37. Dear 5 White and Miss Azzzopardi,

    If you are up for a challenge, here’s another of the Professor’s puzzles!

    http://professorlayton.nintendo.com/curiousvillage/

    And go to the bottom right and scroll over Game Demo.
    Enjoy!

    Sincerely,
    Nathan

  38. Theresa

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,
    My riddle is What is as light as a feather, but even the world’s strongest man couldn’t hold it for more than a minute?
    Kind regards,
    Theresa

  39. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I found some of this riddles and would like to share them:

    1. What is round but cannot be held?
    2. Where that which falls stays where it is?

    This are the three in one riddles:

    1. What is brown and sticky? What is yellow and smells like bananas? What is brown, yellow, sticky and smells like bananas?

    2. Why did the koala fall out of the tree? Why did the second koala fall out of the tree? Why did the third koala fall out of the tree?

    3. What being has 4 legs in the morning, 2 legs in the evening and 3 legs at noon.
    Solve any of this.

    Sincerely,
    Hagen

    • David

      Dear Hagen,

      1.Star.
      2.Waterfall.

      1.Stick and banana and a stick with a banana???
      2.Because they were sleeping on the tree???
      3.Human being, this is hard to explain but you can search it up.

      Sincerely,
      David

  40. Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I really enjoy riddles! Here are some of mine:

    1. I am taken from a mine, and shut up in a wooden case, from which I am never released, and yet I am used by almost everybody.
    What am I?

    2. What comes once in a minute, twice in a moment, but never in a thousand years?

    3. (Super Riddle) Walk on the living, they don’t even mumble. Walk on the dead, they mutter and grumble, what are they?

    Most Kindly,
    Nathan

    • Dear Nathan,

      For riddle 1 is the answer pencil lead?
      For riddle 2 is the answer the letter M?
      For riddle 3 is the answer fallen leaves?

      Whatever you say!

      Sincerely,
      Hagen

    • David

      Dear Nathan,

      Gee that’s hard but the answer to number 1 is a lead pencil.

      The pencil is cheap but mighty, haven’t you heard of NASA spending millions of dollars on trying to make a special pen to use in space and all that time there was… the pencil 😀 .

      Sincerely,
      David

  41. Dear Miss Azzopardi And 5 White,

    Everyone is really good at puzzles and riddles, but these ones are REALLY hard! Only a puzzle solver worthy of Professor Layton could solve these, here they are:

    1.My first half is a container and I am a language only understood by a few, what am I?
    P.S There are 2 possible answers for this puzzle, I wonder if anyone can figure them both out?

    2.The second is preformed by my first, and, it is a thought, a tjief by the marks of my whole might be caught, what am I?

    3.The man who invented it doesn’t want it. The man who bought it doesn’t need it. He who needs it doesn’t know it. What is it?

    4.I can be found where anything cannot; dead men eat me all the time but if a living man eats me, he’ll die. What am I?
    (The easiest puzzle in the lot!)

    5.If life gets tough, what do you have that you can always count on?

    6.2 fathers and 2 sons go fishing. Each of them catches one fish. So, at the end of the day, why do they only bring home 3 fish?

    7.If your drawer has 6 black socks, 4 brown, 8 white, & 2 tan, how many would you pull out to be sure you had a matching pair?

    8.Mother and Father have four daughters, and each daughter has one brother. How many people are in the family?

    9.If it has a quart capacity, how many pennies can you put into an empty piggy bank?

    10.Many things can make one of any shape or size. It’s created for various reasons & can shrink or grow with time. What is it?

    11.You have a barrel of oil & you need to measure out just 1 gallon. How do you do this with only a 3 and a 5 gallon container?

    12.If there are three cups of sugar and you take one away, how many do you have?

    13.How did Mark legally marry three women in Michigan, without divorcing any of them, becoming separated, or any of them dying?

    14. A man was to be sentenced and the judge told him, “Make a statement. If it’s true, I’ll sentence you to 4 years in prison.If it is false, I’ll sentence you to 6 years.” After the man made his statement, the judge decided to let him go free. What did the man say?

    15.What row of numbers comes next in this series? 1, 11, 21, 1211, 111221, 312211, 13112221

    16.How many letters are in the alphabet?

    17.Why can’t a woman, who is now living in Canada, not be buried in the USA?

    18. Two grandmothers, with their two granddaughters, two husbands, with their two wives, two fathers, with their two daughters, two mothers, with their two sons, two maidens, with their two mothers, two sisters, with their two brothers. Yet only six in all lie buried here, all born legitimate, from incest clear. Explain how this may be. This is a tough one!

    19. A horse is tied to a 15 ft. rope & there’s a bail of hay 25 ft. away. Yet, the horse is able to eat from the bail. How?

    20. A sign on the barber’s door says “I only shave those who do not shave themselves”. Does the barber shave himself?

    This is all I can offer today, but I’ll be writing more puzzles up soon! And wow, this sure is a very long comment.

    Sincerely,
    Nathan

    • Dear Nathan,

      Gee, I don’t think Professor Layton could solve the puzzle because number 1, he is already extinct and number 2, he is finctional, and number 3, he needs a computer to solve it.

      Yours truly,
      Hagen

Leave a Reply

