Cooking at LaSalle

On Monday 11th November and Friday 15th November, Five White visited LaSalle Catholic College to participate in a cooking class. Download the recipe here: Fried Rice. Share it with your parents and perhaps you could cook it together.

In groups of two or three, year five worked with a student from LaSalle to cook fried rice. The students also visited the hospitality kitchen which is set up like a commercial kitchen. A commercial kitchen are the kitchens that you might see in a restaurant and Masterchef. The difference between a commercial kitchen and a residential kitchen (home kitchen) is that a commercial kitchen is often made of stainless steel because it is bacteria resistant and there are many stations so a lot of food can be cooked at the same time.

Take a look at the photos below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What is the difference between a commercial kitchen and a residential kitchen?

What did you enjoy about the cooking lesson and what skills did you learn?

53 Comments

Filed under Special Days

53 responses to “Cooking at LaSalle

  1. Cecilia

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved the fried rice! I enjoyed everything about it, cooking,eating and cleaning. The skills I learnt were chopping, dicing, mixing, stirring and peeling.

    Sincerely,
    Cecilia

    • Natalie

      Dear Cecilia,
      I enjoyed peeing the carrots and chopping it. I thought the fried rice was okay but it wasn’t satisfying for me because the flavours weren’t creating a fantastic storm in my mouth.

      Kind regards,
      Natalie

    • Jamie

      Dear Cecilia,

      I loved cooking at the fried rice too. It was really fun making it and eating it.

      Kind regards,
      Jamie 🙂

    • Dear Cecilia,

      I also really enjoyed the fried rice! I enjoyed the cooking, preparing and eating. The skills I learnt were chopping, stirring, mixing and dicing.

      Sincerely,
      Bella

    • Amanda

      Dear Cecilia,

      I loved the fried rice as well, it was so delicious and I enjoyed making it and eating it. I learnt to always put oil in the pan or the rice will stick to the pan.

      Sincerely,
      Amanda

    • Dear Cecilia,

      I enjoyed cooking so much that i came home ad did it again!!!!!

      Sincerely,
      Jennifer E

    • Bella

      Dear Cecilia,

      I agree! I really loved the fried rice! I enjoyed cooking, chopping and dicing as well! I also enjoyed eating Buk Choy because I had never eaten it before.

      Sincere,
      Bella

  2. Amy

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and five white,

    Cooking at LaSalle was fun cooking fried rice we got to cut,stir and did many more methods. My favourite part was when I got to cut the carrots and the the onions. What was your favourite part?

    Kind regards,
    Amy

    • Natalie

      Dear Amy,
      My favourite part was when we cooked it on the pan. I also liked it when we ate it and I have to say that it was a lot of fun when I was cooking it with my group.

      Sincerely,
      Natalie

    • Jennifer E

      Dear Amy,

      My favourite part was when I got to stir the whole fried rice, it was delicious.

      Sincerely,
      Jennifer E

    • Bella

      Dear Aimee,

      I also agree cooking at Lasalle was really fun! I also enjoyed the cutting, stirring ad dicing! My favourite part was when we got stir the food and add the spices.

      Sincerely,
      Bella

  3. Brenda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I enjoyed cooking. It was really fun. The diffrence between a commercial kitchen and a residantal kitchen is that one of them is made out of stainless steel and it is more complcated whereas the residantal kitchen it is more safer and less complicated. I learnt that you can add stuff that you usally dont use and the skills I learnt was how to cut in different ways.

    Kind Regards,
    Brenda

  4. Dear, Five White & Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved cooking in LaSalle it was so fun! I learnt how to cut fruit and vegetables properly. I loved how we got turns to cut food and the kitchens were amazing but the best part was when we got to eat the yummy fried rice 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Andrea

    • Natalie

      Dear Andrea,
      My favourite part was when we cooked, chopped and ate the fried rice. I found it fun to cook and I hope that we will be doing cooking at LaSalle again! What do you think?

      Kind regards,
      Natalie

    • Jennifer E

      Dear Andrea,

      I loved the fried rice too!!!!!! I enjoyed cutting and washing.
      What was your favourite part of the cooking?

      Sincerely,
      Jennifer E

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Andrea,

      I loved going to LaSalle, and it was so fun!!!!
      It was interesting to learn about making fried rice and it was delicious when it was in our mouths!!! 😀

      Sincerely,
      Jennifer.A

    • Jennifer E

      Dear Andrea,

      I loved to to cook and chop most of the vegtables. Cooking at LaSalle was awesome I loved taking turns!!!!!!

      Sincerely,
      Jennifer E

  5. Theresa

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,
    I had so much fun making fried rice it it was yummy.What I enjoy the best was working with my group and eating it.

    • Natalie

      Dear Theresa,
      I loved working with you during cooking! I found it funny when we started to cry when we cooked and chopped the onions. For me the fried rice was okay but not satisfactory. What do you think about it?

      Sincerely,
      Natalie

    • Dear Theresa,

      I really enjoyed making the fried rice as well. Maybe I should make it one day…

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia

  6. Jennifer.A

    Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    Cooking was really fun!!!! Everyone enjoyed it and it was very fun cooking in groups 😀
    I mostly enjoyed cut the ingredients and mixing them all together…….. Also, the skills I learnt we’re:
    – Chopping
    – Mixing
    – Pouring
    And many more 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Jennifer.A

    • Dear Jennifer A,
      wow!!! I DEFINITELY know that you have learnt a lot durind LaSalle cooking. I loved chopping the food so much!! It was a lot of fun and I hope that we will do it again next year!!!

      Kind regards,
      Natalie

  7. Alicia

    Dear Five white and miss.azzopardi,

    I really enjoyed cooking the fried rice. My students name that taught my group was Jimmy. Some laSalle students remembered some teachers in St.Felix which was amazing. I learnt that to cut something you need to keep your finger away.

    Kind regards,
    Alicia

    • Natalie

      Dear Alicia,
      I definitely enjoyed cooking at LaSalle! What I liked the most during the experience was when my group, even my LaSalle helper, started crying when we chopped the onions and cooked it!! I learnt to stay away from the cooking pan because you might get burnt.

      Sincerely,
      Natalie

      • Amy

        Dear Alicia,

        It was fun working with you though it was really hard to stop crying when I was chopping the onion, it was funny how we asked him questions.

        Kind regards,
        Amy

    • amanda

      Dear Alicia,

      Cooking at LaSalle was so fun, I can’t wait to do it next year. I really enjoyed cooking the fried rice and eating it, I found it unusual that I didn’t cry while cutting the onions. I also found out that I don’t really like Buk Choy.

      Kind Regards,
      Amanda

      • Alicia

        Dear Amanda,

        When I was cutting the onion I didn’t cry because I had my glasses on, which was fun.

        Bye,
        Alicia

  8. Dear Five White,

    I really enjoyed eating fried rice! It was really yummy. My teachers name was Bill and he taught me lots of things including how to chop and put ingredients in a pan. We used many ingredients including carrot, celery and Buk Choy. Do you remember any other ingredients we used!

    Sincerely,
    Bella

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Bella,

      It seems like you really did enjoy the fried rice and we all learnt a lot in how to chop and put ingredients into pan 😀 I remember also putting soy sauce, rice, capsicum and many more ingredients!

      Yours truly,
      Jennifer.A

    • Grace

      Dear Bella,

      I agree the fried rice was delicious!! I loved it. Bill has taught us a lot he taught me how to dice the carrots properly. We also put in rice, soy sauce and a daughter of oil.

      Hope to see you soon,
      Grace

  9. Kong

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I didn’t learn much skills in cooking because I already knew how to fry, peel and dice! But I did enjoy cooking the delicious Fried Rice! The difference between a commercial kitchen and a residential kitchen is that a commercial kitchen is way larger than a residential and is cleaner.

    Yours Truly,
    Kong

  10. Dear Miss Azzopardi and five white,

    I loved cooking at LaSalle it was fun!!!! The student that taught me was named Chris. I learnt that when you have something hot to keep your hands away from the fire.

    Kind regards,
    Jennifer E

  11. Jennifer E

    Dear Miss Azzzopardi and five white,

    I enjoyed cooking at LaSalle!!!!!! My student cookers name was Chris.
    I learnt not to put your fingers on the rim of the pan.

    Kind regards,
    Jennifer E

  12. Kevin

    Dear five white and miss Azzopardi,

    Cooking fried rice was extremely fun, however some of the ingredients that were in the fired rice wasn’t nice. I learnt new cooking skills and how to cut the vegetables properly.

    Kind regards,
    Kevin

    • Kong

      Dear Kevin,

      I also thought cooking fried rice was extremely fun too! I also agree that some ingredients in the fried rice was not nice like the capsicum!

      Kind Regards,
      Kong

      • Tony

        Dear Kevin,

        I Absolutely agree that cooking the fried rice was extremely fun but to be honest I only ate the rice i didn’t eat much of the vegetables because I do not fancy onions that much. I also learnt new skills too !!

        Sincerely,
        Tony

  13. Tony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved cooking Fried Rice At LaSalle because it was yummy and very fun making it because my mentor Will was funny and he told me that he went to St Felix when he was in primary school !! He knows a lot of teachers from our school and also his principal was Mr Nolan but if he had our new principal he would be happy. I really like the rice that we made and I never knew Buck Choi was yummy.What did you enjoy about Cooking at LaSalle ?
    Sincerly,
    Tony

  14. Dear Five White,

    I really enjoyed cooking at Lasalle. It was really fun learning how to cook fried rice by chopping and dicing. The difference between a commercial and residential kitchen is that a commercial kitchen is larger and made of stainless steal.

    sincerest,
    Bella

    • Natalie

      Dear Bella,
      WOW!! You learnt a lot from the experience not to mention when we visited a commercial kitchen! A commercial kitchen is usually made of stainless steel to keep the germs and bacteria out.

      Kind regards,
      Natalie

  15. Anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I enjoyed cooking at LaSalle. At LaSalle we made delicious fried rice. My favorite part of the fried rice was the rice it was very nice!
    The difference between a residential kitchen and a commercial kitchen is that a commercial kitchen is made of stainless steel and has air vents and bench warmers whereas residential kitchens is a ordinary everyday home kitchen. What was your favorite food item in the fried rice?

    Sincerely Anthony

    • Kong

      Dear Anthony,

      I also enjoyed cooking at LaSalle because it was really fun! My favourite part was eating the rice it was so nice since i fried it! My favourite food item was the rice because I’m so used to it since i eat it every night.

      Kind Regards,
      Kong

  16. simone

    Dear Five and Miss Azzopardi,

    I really liked the fried rice and the vegies because it had lots of flavours and it tasted really good. I really hope that i will taste it again it was so delicious and it was the best food that I ever had. I really think that other people would of liked it as well i have learnt alot about making fried rice and the vegies. I reallt enjoyed having a lot i wanted to go for seconds but i couldnt because it was time to go back to school.

  17. Isabelle

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I really loved the rice and the veggies because it had a lot of flavours and it was really good. I enjoyed everything about it. A commercial kitchen is made of stainless and it keeps the germs and bacteria out.

    Kind Regards,
    Isabelle

  18. Pingback: Five Green's Class Blog

  19. Amy

    Deat five white and Miss Azzopardi,

    cooking at LaSalle was so fun we got chop and stir. My laSalle helper we asked him questions and after I helped him clean up. My favourite part was when I was when I got to stir though it was a bit boring when you stir for a long time.What was your favourite part?

    Kind regards,
    Amy

  20. Theresa

    Dear five white and Miss Azzopardi,
    Cooking at LaSalle was amazing I had a great time.The fired rice was really yummy and tasty.

    Kind regards,
    Theresa

  21. Brenda

    Dear Isabelle,

    You are right it does keep the germs and bacteria away. Did you like cooking it?

  22. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    I enjoyed making fried rice in LaSalle even though I hate celery and ended to dump the whole food in the bin. I remembered some of the ingredients and this is the list:

    * Mushrooms
    *Celeries
    * Bok choys
    * Rice
    * Sesame oil
    * Soy sauce
    * Onions
    * Carrots
    * Calcium

    Sincerely,
    Hagen

Leave a Reply

