Fractions and Decimals

Fraction: Any part of a group, number or whole. When you divide something into equal pieces, each piece is a fraction of the whole thing.

You can use a fraction wall like this to compare fractions with each other.

 Fractions

Click on the links below to practise your skills.

Fractions

Fractions 2

Fractions 3

Fraction

Watch the YouTube video below. 

When do you or your parents use fractions in every day life?

What did you think about the games above?

Compare fractions using the fraction wall above. 

33 Comments

Filed under Mathematics

33 responses to “Fractions and Decimals

  1. Brenda

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I like learning about fractions but on the other hand it is a bit hard and confusing. I use fractions at school. The games were fun and a bit hard like the card game was hard because you had to match the cards with a different card.1 half and 2 quartes equal a whole.

    sincerely,
    Brenda

    • Jennifer E

      Dear Brenda,

      I love fractions to!!!!! Do you find fractions easy or hard?

      Sincerely,
      Jennifer E

      • Natalie

        Dear Jennifer E,
        Fractions are so fun! For me, it depends on what kind of question the fraction is involved in.

        Kind regards,
        Natalie

      • Jamie

        Dear Brenda,

        I know a lot about fractions too!!!! It can sometimes get hard and confusing but I’ve gotta say it’s really fun.

        Kind regards,
        Jamie:)

  2. Kong

    Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    i use fractions to figure out the money needed to pay so my mum doesn’t do the calculating and know what to buy.
    Here are some fractions that are equivalent:
    1=2/2
    1/5=2/10
    1/8=125/1000
    1/4=25/100
    18/27=2/3

    Sincerely,
    Kong

  3. Natalie

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and 5W,
    During the topic Fractions and Decimals, I learnt that you can add different fractions to make one whole. For example, 1/2 + 1/4+ 1/4= 1. My parents would use fractions when they need to divide things equally so that my sisters and I have the same amount. The games that were suggested to play above helped me have a better understanding of fractions and it actually helped me memories the meaning of fractions- any part of a whole, group or number. What have you learnt during the Fraction lessons?

    Sincerely,
    Natalie

    • Jamie

      Dear Natalie,

      Fractions are sooooo fun!!!!!! I think everyone loves them. And u know what you are so good at them, keep up the good work you will get better for sure.

      Kind regards,
      Jamie 🙂

  4. Tonyyy

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    Fractions and Decimals are so so fun to learn about in Maths !!
    Fractions and Decimals Definition :
    Any part of a group, number or whole.
    What is larger a 1/2 or a 1/10th ?
    What is larger a 1/4th or a 1/6th ?
    In Fractions I learnt lots and before I never knew that 1/4th was bigger than a 1/10th but now I know that if you have 10 pieces of Pizza, Why would you eat 10 small pieces when you can eat 4 big equal pieces ?

    Sincerly,
    Tony

    • anthony

      Dear Tony,

      Wow you have Learnt a lot about fractions and decimals!
      Q1. What is larger a 1/2 or a 1/10th? 1/2
      Q2. What is larger a 1/4th or a 1/6th? 1/4th
      What did you enjoy learning about in fractions and decimals?

    • Kong

      Dear Tony,

      I totally agree that fractions are so fun to learn! But easy for me since i know how to multiply, add.subtract and divide fractions.
      1/4 is larger than 1/6
      1/2 is larger than 1/10

      Yours Truly,
      Kong

      • Tony

        Dear Kong and Anthony,

        Thanks for replying to me !!! Fractions are so fun to learn about and I like them a lot. You guys are both correct the answers are a 1/4th and a 1/10. I hope you guys have learnt a lot in Fractions and Decimals because I already know that you guys are very smart at maths. What was your favorite lesson and what would you rate Fractions and Decimals out of 10 ?

        Yours Truly,
        Tony

  5. Grace

    Dear miss Azzopardi and 5W,

    Fractions and decimals are really fun and I loved how we got play games like fraction bingo and many more. At the shops my mum uses fractions when there is a sale at as clothing store it could be half price and my mum wold have to find out how much half price would be for a $27 top. I loved the games they were fun and I just love fractions. What do you love the most about Fractions?

    Sincerely,
    Grace

    • Dear Grace,

      I REALLY loved learning about fractions! What I like about fractions is that it is not hard or easy and it is fun to learn more about it! I can’t wait to learn about decimals! 🙂

      Sincerely,
      Cecilia

      • Dear Cecilia,
        I absolutely enjoy learning about fractions!!! I learnt that you can add different fractions together to create a whole!

        Kind regards,
        Natalie

    • Jennifer.A

      Dear Grace,

      It looks like you are having a lot of fun in the topic, fractions! My mum would also use fractions at shopping stores and when she is just buying stuff 😀 The thing i love most about fractions are the mini games we play during class such as, fraction bingo, who am i and many other games 🙂

      Sincerley,
      Jennifer.A

    • Jamie

      Dear Grace,

      I can see how much u know about fractions. Your really good at them and u will get better!!!!!!!!

    • Bella

      Dear Grace,

      I agree fractions and decimals are so so so fun!!! I loved how we got to play games also! I loved fraction dominoes.I love that you can use fractions alot and we are also going to go to the subject decimals soon!

      Kind regards,
      Bella

  6. Anthony

    Dear Five White and Miss Azzopardi,

    During fractions and decimals I have learnt so much including how to simplify fractions, how to find two thirds in a triangle and one third and how to place different fractions on a number line. What did you enjoy learning about in fractions and decimals and what have you learnt about fractions and decimals?

    Sincerely Anthony

  7. Kevin

    Dear five white and miss Azzopardi,

    I love learning about fractions in maths! There are many different kinds of fractions: e.g proper fractions, mixed fraction, improper fractions and more.
    You can use fraction any where and at a shop if there is a product that is like 5%, 10%, 50% 75% you know how much cheaper you can buy it for.

    Kind regards,
    Kevin

  8. Jennifer E

    Dear grace,

    Do you enjoy fractions? I know I do. I also love playing the fractions games they were educational and fun.

    Sincerely,
    Jennifer E

  9. Dear 5 White and Miss Azzopardi,

    I loved learning about fractions and decimals! My parents use fractions in their daily lives when they need to explain something with a pie chart. I thought the games were fun and challenging, here are my examples:

    What is larger, 2/3 or 5/6?

    Which is smaller,1/4 or 2/8?

    Which is smaller, 2/5 or 2/10?

    Most Cordially,
    Nathan

    • Kong

      Dear Nathan,

      The answer to those examples are:

      5/6 is larger than 2/3

      1/4 and 2/8 are equal Nathan, they are both the same

      2/10 is smaller than 2/5

      Sincerely,
      Kong

  10. Pingback: Five Green's Class Blog

  11. Dear Miss Azzopardi and Five White,

    Wow I’ve learnt so much during fractions and decimals and i know so much than before!
    My parents use fractions or decimal when they make food and the measure how much ingredients is used.
    I think the games above was fun and it definitely boost my brain to think about all the things I’ve learnt during fractions and decimals!
    I also knew that 1/3 is larger than 1/10 i thought it was the other way round.
    What do you love about fractions and decimals?

    Kind regards,
    Josephine

    • Jamie

      Dear Josephine,

      I’ve learnt soooooo much about fractions too. the games sure did boost my brain too.Keep it up.

      Kind regards,
      Jamie:)

    • Dear Josephine,

      I love a lot about fractions and decimals. I found it really funny that 1/5 was bigger than 1/12 to because I thought that the denominator is the one that needs to be counted. Every maths lesson I earn something that’s absolutely new.

      Kind regards,
      Grace

  12. Amy

    Dear Miss Azzopardi and Five White,

    Fractions are easy sometimes but decimals are a bit hard for me. I have learnt a lot about fractions and definitions about a proper fraction and many more.

    Kind regards,
    Amy

  13. Bella

    Dear Five White,

    I’ve learnt so much in Fractions, I really love it! Sometimes they can be hard but I remember to never give up. My parents and I use fractions when we go to the supermarket to get groceries for example 1/2 a watermelon.The games were fun and a little bit hard I liked the card game because you had to match the cards with a different card. 1/4 1/4 1/2 equals 1. What did you learn in fractions?

    Sincerely,
    Bella

  14. Dear 5W and Miss Azzopardi,

    At school learning fractions was so cool and it was so easy. I think I like doing fractions every time but truth is I think it was a waste of time when we were matching 25 squares with fractions on it!

    Sincerely,
    Hagen

Leave a Reply

